Skip to main content
Home Self Help Name Changes
Home Self Help Name Changes
Name Changes
These standard instructions are for informational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice about your case. If you choose to represent yourself, you are bound by the same rules and procedures as an attorney.

  • Adult Name Changes
    • 1. What do I need to do before I file my case with the court?
      • Complete instructions can be found in JDF 432 Filing a Change of Name

         

        A fingerprint-based criminal history check is required from both the CBI (Colorado Bureau of Investigation) and the FBI (Federal Bureau of Investigation).

        Contact your local law enforcement office to be fingerprinted. The Court may provide you with two fingerprint cards or, in the event that your local court does not, your local sheriff’s department should provide them. You will see a box labeled “Reason Fingerprinted” on the card in the upper left hand corner. Write “§13-15-101 Legal Name Change” in the "Reason Fingerprinted" block of the card. Please write your name, home address, and date of birth clearly on the fingerprint card. If the agency completing the fingerprints uses an electronic print system, please do not write on the cards as the agency will automatically input the information.

        You are responsible for mailing or hand-delivering the completed fingerprint cards to the CBI and the FBI. Allow up to 13 weeks to process the criminal history check from the FBI. It can take up to 4 weeks to receive your criminal history check back from the CBI. The criminal history check results must be dated within 90 days prior to the filing of the Petition for Change of Name. For this reason, it is best to mail your FBI fingerprint card, wait 7 - 9 weeks, and then mail or hand-deliver your CBI fingerprint card. You will then be provided with a full report from both agencies.

        The FBI requires an Applicant Information Form to be submitted along with the fingerprint card. This Applicant Information Form, along with additional information regarding FBI requests, can be obtained at the following link: Federal Bureau of Investigation

        Mail the completed fingerprint card and Applicant Information Form to the FBI at Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division, Attn: SCU, Mod. D-2, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, Clarksburg, WV 26306, along with a certified check or money order for $18.00. Do not fold the fingerprint card.

        You can also contact FBI customer service at 304-625-5590.

        Mail or hand-deliver your completed CBI fingerprint card to the CBI at 690 Kipling, Denver, Colorado 80215, along with a money order. Do not fold the fingerprint card. If you hand-deliver the fingerprint card, you can also pay by cash. The following link will give you information about obtaining a CBI background check as well as the fees charged: CBI - Criminal History Record Information and Fees. You can also contact the CBI at 303-239-4208.

        If you have a felony conviction recorded in Colorado or any other state, and you know that it is inaccurate, it is your responsibility to obtain the disposition information from the court where such action occurred as identified in the CBI and FBI reports.

        You are also responsible for providing certified copies of any criminal dispositions that are not reflected in the CBI or FBI records, and any other dispositions which are unknown, by contacting the agency where such actions occurred.

        Timelines

        Agency Type of Document Time to Process
        Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI) Background Check up to 4 weeks
        Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) Background Check Minimum of 30 days (can take up to 13 weeks)
        Newspaper Agency Publication (if court ordered) See Newspaper Agency

         

    • 2. What forms do I need to fill out for an adult name change?
      • Forms for Adult Name Change

        JDF 432  - Instructions for Filing a Change of Name - Adult

        JDF 433 - Petition for Change of Name (Adult)

        JDF 426 - Order for Publication for Change of Name

        JDF 427 - Public Notice of Petition for Change of Name (Minor/Adult)

        JDF 448 - Final Decree for Change of Name

                             

        *Read the JDF 432 Instructions for Filing a Change of Name - Adult thoroughly before you start the name change process.          

        *Complete all sections of form JDF 433 - Petition for Change of Name (Adult). Attach the fingerprint-based FBI and CBI criminal history checks to the Petition and identify them as "Exhibit A". Make sure that the fingerprint-based criminal history record checks are conducted within 90 days prior to the filing of the Petition. Attach any other criminal disposition documentation and identify it as "Exhibit B". The Petition must be signed in the presence of a Court Clerk of Notary Public. You can find a Notary Public by looking in the Yellow Pages, on the internet, or by going to your local bank.

        *Complete all sections of form JDF 426 - Order for Publication for Change of Name, but do not sign it. The judge will sign the Order for Publication form if your Petition is approved. Once the Order is granted by the court, then publication with a newspaper will be the next step.

        *Complete all sections of form JDF 427 - Public Notice of Petition for Change of Name (Minor/Adult). This is the form that you will submit to your local newspaper to publish notice of the requested name change. Once publication has occurred, you will need to file proof of publication with the court.

        *Complete the caption box only of form JDF 448 - Final Decree for Change of Name. The judge or magistrate will sign the Decree. This form will be returned to you only upon proof of publication. This form proves that the name change has been granted by the court.

        *Take your completed forms to the courthouse in the county where you live. A name change can be filed in county court or district court. Check with the clerk when you file your case to determine what court (county or district) the case should be filed in.

        If you do not think you can afford it, you can request a waiver of the filing fee by completing form JDF 205 Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit, and the caption box of JDF 206 Finding and Order Concerning Payment of Fees to request a waiver of the filing fee or visit our File Without Payment for complete information.

         

         

         

    • 3. How do I prepare for the name change court hearing?
      • Contact the court in the county where you are filing your name change petition to find out their process. To find the correct court, search Courts by County.

        Use the checklist below to make sure you are prepared:

        Form or Process Checklist: Do you have it?
        Contact the Court for filing procedures  
        Background checks from the FBI and the CBI (make sure they are not more than 90 days old)  
        JDF 433 Petition for Change of Name  
        JDF 426 Order for Publication for Change of Name  
        JDF 427 Public Notice  
        JDF 448 Final Decree for Change of Name  

         

    • 4. How do I publish the Proposed Name Change?
      • After the Court reviews the JDF 422 Petition for Change of Name it may issue a JDF 426 Order for Publication for Change of Name. You will have to contact your local newspaper agency and have your proposed name published using JDF 427 Public Notice at least three times within 21 days from the date when the Order for Publication was entered.

        There are exceptions for publishing your name change in the newspaper if you have been:

        *The victim of a crime, the underlying factual basis of which has been found by the court to include an act of domestic violence as defined in  §18-6-800.3(1), C.R.S.,; or

        *The victim of child abuse as defined in §18-6-401, C.R.S., or

        *The victim of domestic abuse as defined in §13-14-101(2), C.R.S.

         

    • 5. How do I receive my final Decree for Change of Name?
      • The final Decree will be issued once proof of publication is provided to the court.  If the publication was waived or was not necessary, the Final Decree for Change of Name will be issued by the Court after the hearing.  Certified or extra copies of the Decree will have separate fees and some courts may request a self-addressed, stamped envelope to mail out the Decree.

    • 6. Can I change my name during my divorce?
      • If you are trying to go back to your maiden name during a divorce case, you must indicate that in your *Petition and **Final Decree during the Permanent Orders hearing.

         If the name change is not requested in the Final Decree for the divorce, the name change will have to be done in a separate case.

        DISSOLUTION OF MARRIAGE

        JDF 1101 - Petition for Dissolution of Marriage/Legal Separation 
        *Question 20: The Petitioner / Co-Petitioner requests that the Court restore his/her prior full name to __________________.

        JDF 1116 - Decree of Dissolution of Marriage/Legal Separation
        **Question 7: The name change request is not detrimental to any person.

        JDF 1201 - Affidavit for Decree without Appearance of Parties (Marriage)

        Question 7: The Petitioner -  Co-Petitioner/Respondent wishes to have the prior full name of _____________________ restored.

        DISSOLUTION OF CIVIL UNION

        JDF 1250 - Petition for Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal Separation of Civil Union
        *Question 20: The Petitioner / Co-Petitioner requests that the Court restore his/her prior full name to __________________.

        JDF 1257 - Decree of Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal Separation of Civil Union.
        **Question 7: The name change request is not detrimental to any person.

        JDF 1258 - Affidavit for Decree without Appearance of Parties (Civil Union)
        Question 7: The Petitioner -  Co-Petitioner/Respondent wishes to have the prior full name of __________________ restored.

         

  • Child Name Changes
    • 1. What do I need to know for a child name change?
      • The minor child must be a resident of the county in which you are filing the Petition for Name Change.

        If the minor child is under the age of 19 years and is the subject of a case concerning child support, allocation of parental responsibilities, or parenting time, the Petition for Name Change must be filed in the same District Court as that case.

        The Parent/Petitioner must be 18 years of age or older.

        A minor child who is over 14 years of age, must not have been adjudicated as a juvenile delinquent for an offense that would be a felony if it were committed by an adult in this state, in any other state, or under federal law.

        The minor child, if 14 years of age or older, must have completed a fingerprint-based criminal history record check within 90 days prior to the filing of the Petition for Name Change.

        Unless the Court has ordered that publication is NOT required, proof of publication must be completed and submitted to the Court prior to the name change being officially granted.

        For additional information, please review Colorado Revised Statutes §13-15-101 and §13-15-102.

    • 2. Do I need a criminal background check for my child?
      • Complete instructions can be found at JDF 420 Instructions for filing a Change of Name - Minor.

        If the minor child is over 14 years of age, a fingerprint-based criminal history check is required from both the CBI (Colorado Bureau of Investigation) and the FBI (Federal Bureau of Investigation).  See the table below for timelines.

        Agency Type of Document Time to Process
        Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI) Background Check  up to 4 weeks
        Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) Background Check Minimum of 30 days (can take up to 13 weeks)
        Newspaper Agency Publication (if court ordered) See Newspaper Agency
         

        Contact your local law enforcement office to be fingerprinted. The Court may provide you with two fingerprint cards or, in the event that your local court does not, your local sheriff’s department should provide them. You will see a box labeled “Reason Fingerprinted” on the card in the upper left hand corner. Write “§13-15-101 Legal Name Change” in the "Reason Fingerprinted" block of the card. Please write the minor child's name, home address, and date of birth clearly on the fingerprint card. If the agency completing the fingerprints uses an electronic print system, please do not write on the cards as the agency will automatically input the information.

        You are responsible for mailing or hand-delivering the completed fingerprint cards to the CBI and the FBI. Allow up to 13 weeks to process the criminal history check from the FBI. It can take up to 4 weeks to receive the criminal history check back from the CBI. The criminal history check results must be dated within 90 days prior to the filing of the Petition for Change of Name. For this reason, it is best to mail the FBI fingerprint card, wait 7 - 9 weeks, and then mail or hand-deliver the CBI fingerprint card. You will then be provided with a full report from both agencies.

        The FBI requires an Applicant Information Form to be submitted along with the fingerprint card.

        Mail the completed fingerprint card and Applicant Information Form to the FBI at Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division, Attn: SCU, Mod. D-2, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, Clarksburg, WV 26306, along with a certified check or money order for $18.00. Do not fold the fingerprint card.

        You can also contact FBI customer service at 304-625-5590.

        Mail or hand-deliver your completed CBI fingerprint card to the CBI at 690 Kipling, Denver, Colorado 80215, along with a money order. Do not fold the fingerprint card. If you hand-deliver the fingerprint card, you can also pay by cash. The following link will give you information about obtaining a CBI background check as well as the fees charged: CBI - Criminal History Record Information and Fees. You can also contact the CBI at 303-239-4208.

        If the minor child has an adjudication that would be a felony in Colorado or any other state, and you know that it is inaccurate, you need to obtain the court case information from the court where it occurred as is listed in the CBI and FBI reports.

        You are also responsible for providing certified copies of any criminal dispositions of the minor child that are not reflected in the CBI or FBI records, and any other dispositions which are unknown, by contacting the agency where such actions occurred.

    • 3. What forms do I need to fill out for a child name change?
      • Forms for Child Name Change

        JDF 421 - Petition for Change of Name of Minor Child

        JDF 422 - Notice to Non-Custodial Parent

        JDF 423 - Consent of Non-Custodial Parent

        JDF 424 - Request to Publish Notice to Non-Custodial Parent of Change of Minor’s Name and Publication Order

        JDF 425- Notice to Non-Custodial Parent by Publication

        JDF 426- Order for Publication for Change of Name

        JDF 448 - Final Decree for Change of Name

         

        *Complete all sections of form JDF 421 - Petition for Change of Minor Child. Make sure to write the full legal name of the child and the proposed name on the caption box part of this form.  Check your spelling as this is the official request to change the child’s name.  If a name is spelled incorrectly and the Petition is granted, you may need to start the process again from the beginning.

        *A minor child who is over 14 years of age, attach the fingerprint-based FBI and CBI criminal history checks to the Petition and identify them as "Exhibit A". Make sure that the fingerprint-based criminal history record checks are conducted within 90 days prior to the filing of the Petition. Attach any other criminal disposition documentation the child may have and identify it as "Exhibit B".

        *The Petition must be signed by the parent/Petitioner in the presence of a Court Clerk of Notary Public. You can find a Notary Public by looking in the Yellow Pages, on the internet, or by going to your local bank.

        *Notify the Non-Custodial Parent using form JDF 422 - Notice to Non-Custodial Parent. This form must be must be sent by certified mail to the Non-Custodial Parent and proof of mailing must be filed with the court at least 14 days prior to the name change court hearing. If the Non-Custodial Parent is deceased, then the parent/Petitioner must provide a death certificate.

        *Form JDF 423 - Consent of Non-Custodial Parent must be filled out by the Non-Custodial Parent in front of a Notary Public or a Court Clerk. If the Non-Custodial Parent is deceased, then the parent/Petitioner must provide a death certificate. If the Non-Custodial Parent cannot fill out and sign the JDF 423 - Consent of Non-Custodial Parent form, or if the location of the Non-Custodial Parent is unknown, you may ask the Court to order publication of the notice in a local newspaper.  The publication must be done once weekly for five consecutive weeks from the date of the JDF 426 Order for Publication for Change of Name. The JDF 424 Request to Publish Notice to Non-Custodial Parent of Change of Minor’s Name and Publication Order and the JDF 425  Notice to Non-Custodial Parent by Publication may also be required by the court.

        *Complete the caption box only of form JDF 448 - Final Decree for Change of Name. This form proves that the name change has been granted by the court. The judge or magistrate will sign the Decree only upon proof of publication (if required).  If publication was not required, then the judge or magistrate will sign the Decree according to their county's local procedures.

        If you do not think you can afford it, you can request a waiver of the filing fee by completing form JDF 205 Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit, and the caption box of JDF 206 Finding and Order Concerning Payment of Fees  or visit our File Without Payment for complete information.

    • 4. Filing the documents with the Court
      • The Petition must be filed in the county where the child lives UNLESS the child is the subject of a case concerning child support, allocation of parental responsibilities, or parenting time in another county. If so, the Petition for Name Change must be filed in the same District Court as that case. Contact the court in the county where you are filing your name change petition to find out their process. To find the correct court, search Courts by County.

        Use the checklist below to make sure you are prepared:

        Form Needed
        Background checks that are no more than 90 days old from the FBI and CBI (if the minor child is over 14 years of age)
        JDF 421 - Petition for Change of Name of Minor Child

        JDF 423 - Consent of Non-Custodial Parent

        JDF 422 - Notice to Non-Custodial Parent

        JDF 424 - Request to Publish Notice and Order (if necessary)

        JDF 426 - Order for Publication for Change of Name (if necessary)
        JDF 448 - Final Decree for Change of Name
        *Contact the Court in the county you will be filing in for specific procedures

         

         

         

         

    • 5. How do I prepare for the name change court hearing?
      • Both parents must be present at the hearing. If the Non-Custodial Parent is unable to appear, then proof of notice to the Non-Custodial Parent must be provided to the court before the hearing date. If the JDF 427 - Public Notice of Petition for Change of Name (Minor/Adult) is necessary, the judge or magistrate will determine that at the court hearing. If publication is ordered, it must be done at least 3 times within 21 days. The JDF 448 - Final Decree for Change of Name will be signed and ordered by the judge or magistrate once proof of the publication is provided to the Court.    

  • Name Change - Obtain Identity Documents (Felony/JD)
    • 2. What forms and instructions do I need?
      • FORMS

        JDF 385 - Instructions for Filing a Change of Name Following Conviction/Adjudication for a Felony 

        JDF 386 - Petition for Change of Name to Obtain Identity-Related Documents

        JDF 387 - Order for Change of Name to Obtain Identity-Related Documents

        JDF 426 - Order for Publication for Change of Name

        JDF 427 - Public Notice

         

        *The court will ask you to pay a filing fee. If you do not think you can afford it, you can request a waiver of the filing fee by completing form JDF 205 Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit, and the caption box of JDF 206 Finding and Order Concerning Payment of Fees or visit our Filing Without Payment for complete information.

         

        *Read the JDF 385 Instructions for Filing a Change of Name Following Conviction/Adjudication for a Felony thoroughly before you start this process.

         

    • 1. When would I use this process for a name change?
      • These instructions and forms only apply to a person who was convicted of a felony, or a person who was adjudicated as a juvenile delinquent for an offense that would constitute a felony if committed by an adult in Colorado or any other state or under federal law, and the person needs a legal name change in order to be issued a driver’s license or an identification card in Colorado.

        Below are links to information for obtaining a background check from the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), as well as the fees charged for obtaining that information. The fees charged by these agencies are set by the agency and may change without notice.

        CBI - Criminal History Record Information Fees

        FBI - Identification Record Request/Criminal Background Check

    • 3. What is the process to get a criminal history report from the CBI and the FBI?
      • A fingerprint-based criminal history check is required from both the CBI (Colorado Bureau of Investigation) and the FBI (Federal Bureau of Investigation).

        Contact your local law enforcement office to be fingerprinted. The Court may provide you with two fingerprint cards or, in the event that your local court does not, your local sheriff’s department should provide them. You will see a box labeled “Reason Fingerprinted” on the card in the upper left hand corner. Write “§13-15-101 Name Change to Obtain Legal Documents” in the "Reason Fingerprinted" block of the card. Please write your name, home address, and date of birth clearly on the fingerprint card. If the agency completing the fingerprints uses an electronic print system, please do not write on the cards as the agency will automatically input the information.

        You are responsible for mailing or hand-delivering the completed fingerprint cards to the CBI and the FBI. Allow up to 13 weeks to process the criminal history check from the FBI. It can take up to 4 weeks to receive your criminal history check back from the CBI. The criminal history check results must be dated within 90 days prior to the filing of the Petition for Change of Name. For this reason, it is best to mail your FBI fingerprint card, wait 7 - 9 weeks, and then mail or hand-deliver your CBI fingerprint card. You will then be provided with a full report from both agencies.

        The FBI requires an Applicant Information Form to be submitted along with the fingerprint card.

        Mail the completed fingerprint card and Applicant Information Form to the FBI at Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division, Attn: SCU, Mod. D-2, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, Clarksburg, WV 26306, along with a certified check or money order for $18.00. Do not fold the fingerprint card.

        You can also contact FBI customer service at 304-625-5590.

        Mail or hand-deliver your completed CBI fingerprint card to the CBI at 690 Kipling, Denver, Colorado 80215, along with a money order. Do not fold the fingerprint card. If you hand-deliver the fingerprint card, you can also pay by cash. The following link will give you information about obtaining a CBI background check as well as the fees charged: CBI - Criminal History Record Information and Fees. You can also contact the CBI at 303-239-4208.

        If you have a felony conviction recorded in Colorado or any other state, and you know that it is inaccurate, it is your responsibility to obtain the disposition information from the court where such action occurred as identified in the CBI and FBI reports.

        You are also responsible for providing certified copies of any criminal dispositions that are not reflected in the CBI or FBI records, and any other dispositions which are unknown, by contacting the agency where such actions occurred.

         

        Notify the appropriate agencies in writing.

        *You must notify the CBI and the FBI, in writing, to add the proposed name change as an alias to your criminal history record. A copy of this written notification must be provided to the Court.

        *You must provide notification of the proposed name change, in writing, to the district attorney’s office in any district in which there was a conviction of a felony that you are requesting a name change. A copy of this written notification must be provided to the Court.

        *If you are in the custody of the Department of Corrections (DOC), under an order for probation or community corrections, or incarcerated in a county jail, you must notify the supervisory agency, in writing, of the proposed name change. A copy of this written notification must be provided to the Court.

    • 4. How do I fill out the forms for the name change?
      • JDF 386 Petition for Change of Name to Obtain Identity-Related Documents

        Complete all sections of the JDF 386 Petition form. Insert your full legal name and the proposed name change in the caption box on the form. The proposed name change should be the name under which you were convicted or adjudicated. Check your spelling as this is the official request for the name change. If a name is spelled incorrectly and the petition is granted, you may need to start the process again from the beginning. If there is a good reason, the Court may allow a change of name other than the name under which you were convicted or adjudicated.

        Exhibit A
        Attach the fingerprint-based FBI and CBI criminal history record checks to the Petition and identify them as Exhibit A. Make sure that the fingerprint-based criminal history record checks are conducted within 90 days prior to the filing of the Petition.

        Exhibit B
        Attach the criminal history report from the CBI and identify it as Exhibit B.  The proposed name should be added as an Alias on this report.  If the conviction or adjudication occurred in another state, you should submit the letter from CBI showing no CBI record exists and identify it as Exhibit B.

        Exhibit C
        If it applies, attach a copy of the written notification provided to the supervising agency of DOC, Probation Department or Community Corrections and identify it as Exhibit C.

        Exhibit D
        Attach a copy of the written notification provided to the District Attorney’s Office and identify it as Exhibit D.

         

        JDF 426 Order for Publication for Change of Name

        Complete all sections of this form. The judge or magistrate will sign the JDF 426 Order for Publication if your JDF 386 Petition is approved and if publication is required.

         

        JDF 427 Public Notice

        Complete all sections of this form. This is the form that you will submit to the local newspaper to publish notice of the requested name change, if the judge or magistrate requires it.

         

        JDF 387 Order for Change of Name to Obtain Identity-Related Documents

        Complete the caption box only. The judge or magistrate will complete the rest.

         

        Forms to File with the Court
        JDF 386  Petition for Change of Name to Obtain Identity-Related Documents

        Notifications:
        Notification to the CBI and the FBI to add the proposed name change as an alias to your criminal history record.
        Exhibit A - CBI and FBI criminal history record checks
        Exhibit B- CBI Criminal History Report
        Exhibit C- Written notification to DOC, Probation or Community Corrections (if this applies to you)
        Exhibit D - Written notification provided to the District Attorney's Office

        JDF 426 Order for Publication for Change of Name

        JDF 427 Public Notice (if required by the Court)
        JDF 387 Order for Change of Name to Obtain Identity-Related Documents

         

  • Name Change for Person 70 Years of Age or Older
    • What do I need to do before I file my case with the court?
      • General Information you need to know before you file your petition.

        This information only applies to a person who is 70 years of age or older, has not been convicted of a felony or adjudicated as a juvenile deliquent for an offense that would constitute a felony if committed by an adult in any state or under federal law, and is seeking a name change to harmonize name discrepancies necessary to be issued an identification card in Colorado.

        The petition shall be filed in county court or district court in the county in which the person seeking a name change is a resident.

        The court will not consider a Petition for a name change unless the following occures:

        A FBI and CBI fingerprint-based criminal history record check is conducted within 90 days prior to the filing of the Petition.  

        If the fingerprint-based record checks were inconclusive because the fingerprints were unreadable or not discernable, a name-based criminal history record check conducted by the CBI shall be submitted to the court.  

         

         

    • How do I complete the fingerprint-based criminal history checks?
      • You must submit a criminal history check from the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) at the time the JDF 389 Petition for Change of Name (70 Years of Age or Older) is filed.

        Contact your local law enforcement office to be fingerprinted. The Court may provide you with two fingerprint cards or, in the event that your local court does not, your local sheriff’s department should provide them. You will see a box labeled “Reason Fingerprinted” on the card in the upper left hand corner. Write “§13-15-101 Legal Name Change” in the "Reason Fingerprinted" block of the card. Please write your name, home address, and date of birth clearly on the fingerprint card. If the agency completing the fingerprints uses an electronic print system, please do not write on the cards as the agency will automatically input the information.

        You are responsible for mailing or hand-delivering the completed fingerprint cards to the CBI and the FBI. Allow up to 13-15 weeks to process the criminal history check from the FBI. It can take up to 4-6 weeks to receive your criminal history check back from the CBI. The criminal history check results must be dated within 90 days prior to the filing of the Petition for Change of Name. For this reason, it is best to mail your FBI fingerprint card, wait 7 - 9 weeks, and then mail or hand-deliver your CBI fingerprint card. You will then be provided with a full report from both agencies.

        The FBI requires an Applicant Information Form to be submitted along with the fingerprint card. This Applicant Information Form, along with additional information regarding FBI requests, can be obtained at the following link: http://www.fbi.gov/hq/cjisd/fprequest.htm

        Mail the completed fingerprint card and Applicant Information Form to the FBI at Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, Clarksburg, WV 26306, along with a certified check or money order. Do not fold the fingerprint card.

        You can also contact FBI customer service at 304-625-5590.

        Mail or hand-deliver your completed CBI fingerprint card to the CBI at 690 Kipling, Denver, Colorado 80215, along with a money order. Do not fold the fingerprint card. If you hand-deliver the fingerprint card, you can also pay by cash. The following link will give you information about obtaining a CBI background check as well as the fees charged: CBI - Criminal History Record Information and Fees. You can also contact the CBI at 303-239-4208.

        If you have a felony conviction recorded in Colorado or any other state, and you know that it is inaccurate, it is your responsibility to obtain the disposition information from the court where such action occurred as identified in the CBI and FBI reports.

        You are also responsible for providing certified copies of any criminal dispositions that are not reflected in the CBI or FBI records, and any other dispositions which are unknown, by contacting the agency where such actions occurred.

    • What forms do I need to fill out?
      • Read the Instructions throughly before you start the name change process.  

        JDF 388 Instructions for Filing a Change of Name for an Individual 70 Years of Age or Older

         

        Forms for A Person 70 Years of Age or Older filing for a Name Change

        JDF 389 - Petition for Change of Name (70 Years of Age or Older)

        JDF 387 - Final Decree for Change of Name to Obtain Identity-Related Documents   

         

        Complete all sections of JDF 389 Petition for Change of Name (70 Years of Age or Older). Insert your full legal name and proposed name change in the caption box.  
        Attach the fingerprint-based FBI criminal history record check to the Petition as Exhibit A and the fingerprint-based criminal history record check from the CBI as Exhibit B. If the fingerprint-based record checks were inconclusive because the fingerprints were unreadable or not discernable, a name-based criminal history record check conducted by the CBI shall be submitted to the Court along with the CBI/FBI notices indicating that a fingerprint-based check was not possible. Make sure that the fingerprint-based criminal history record checks are conducted within 90 days prior to the filing of the Petition.

        Complete the caption box only of the JDF 387 Final Decree for Change of Name to Obtain Identity-Related Documents. The Judge or Magistrate will sign this one.  

         

    • What do I do with the Final Decree from the Court?
      • You will need a certified copy of the Final Decree to provide to the Department of Revenue for it to issue a driver’s license or identification card in your new name.

        The Court will provide you certified copies at no cost.

  • Name Change Restoration after Divorce
    • What is the Process for Name Change Restoration?
      • File JDF 1824 Verified Motion and Affidavit for Name Restoration After Dissolution of Marriage/Civil Union or Legal Separation in the court where the decree for dissolution of marriage/civil union or legal separation was entered. This can be done at any time after a decree has been entered in your case.    

        File JDF 1825 Order for Name Restoration After Dissolution of Marriage/Civil Union or Legal Separation along with JDF 1824. Only the information in the caption box is to be filled out. The court will fill out the rest.       

    • What are the fees for a Name Restoration?
      • If you file for a name restoration within 60 days after the decree has been signed there is no filing fee. If you file with the court after 60 days then there is a filing fee of $105.00 payable to the court when you file for your name restoration.    

important announcement contact us   •   interpreters   •   faq   •   photos   •   holidays Menu Important Announcement Home Search Courts Probation Jury Self Help ⁄ Forms Careers Media Administration Contact us Interpreters FAQ Photo Gallery Holiday Schedule