Skip to main content
Home Careers Volunteer Opportunities
Home Careers Volunteer Opportunities
Volunteer Opportunities

Deputy Probation Officer Program

The Deputy Probation Officers (DPO) Program allows interns and volunteers to work one-on-one with adult and juvenile offenders in a variety of probation services. These volunteer positions offer an excellent opportunity for citizens that are interested in exploring a career in the Criminal Justice System and/or those wanting to make a difference in their community.

DPO’s may supervise an adult or juvenile caseload of individuals who have been granted probation supervision to ensure court ordered compliance.

Specific duties may include but are not limited to: meet with adult defendants and juveniles,  learn a variety of case management practices, staff cases, assist Probation Officers in writing Pre-Sentencing Investigations (PSI's), alcohol evaluations, warrants, summons, terminations, extensions and special reports to the court.  Volunteers and interns receive assessment training, so they are able to complete Level of Service Inventories (LSI's), case plans, and make referrals to treatment agencies.  Additional duties may include data entry, filing, case documentation, participation in unit meetings and trainings, and any other duties as assigned.  Probation Officers receive training relating to the application of Evidenced–Based Principles.  Deputy Probation Officers are expected to apply these principles when supervising clients, just as a Probation Officer would.

All volunteers must pass a Criminal History Check.

Opportunities Available:

1st Judicial District (Jefferson & Gilpin Counties)

  • DPO positions are available in the Golden office at 100 Jefferson County Parkway.  Please watch the Career Opportunity Section for postings.  If you are interested in becoming a DPO and want more information, please contact: Janice Keller at 720-772-2363 or email at janice.keller@judicial.state.co.us

2nd Judicial District (Denver County)

  • DPO positions are available in the Denver Adult Probation Department located at 303 W. Colfax Ave., Denver CO 80204.  Being a volunteer or intern with our department will provide you a great opportunity to gain exposure to the criminal justice field.  If you are interested in joining our team, please contact Renee Schledwitz at 303-607-7037 or email at 02DAPDInternVolunteer@judicial.state.co.us for further information

4th Judicial District (El Paso & Teller Counties)

5th Judicial District (Breckenridge)

8th Judicial District (Larimer & Jackson Counties)

  • DPO positions are available in all four of the Fort Collins and Loveland Probation offices.  Volunteers and Interns are accepted three times a year.  If you are interested in becoming a DPO and want more information, please contact: Tracy Stromberg at 970-494-3925 or email her at tracy.stromberg@judicial.state.co.us

10th Judicial District (Pueblo County)

  • DPO positions are available in the Dennis C. Maes Judicial Building located at 501 N. Elizabeth, Suite 205. If you are interested in becoming a DPO and want more information, please contact: Janet Sisneros at janet.sisneros@judicial.state.co.us or 719-253-5642.

17th Judicial District (Adams County)

  • DPO positions are available with the 17th Judicial District. Volunteers are accepted year round.  If you are interested in becoming a DPO in Westminster or want more information, please contact: Holly Mackay by e-mailing her at holly.mackay@judicial.state.co.us .  If you are interested in becoming a DPO in Brighton or Commerce City, please contact: Sheri Williamson by e-mailing her at sheri.williamson@judicial.state.co.us .

18th Judicial District (Arapahoe, Douglas, Elbert and Lincoln Counties)

  • A Mandatory 30-hour training is required for new DPOs, which is provided by the department. A minimum of 3 hours per week for one year is required upon completion of the training. If you are interested in becoming a DPO and want more information, please contact: Ann Welty, 303-418-1409, or e-mail ann.welty@judicial.state.co.us , or Steve Ferree at steve.ferree@judicial.state.co.us

19th Judicial District (Weld County)

  • DPO positions are available in the Greeley Office at 934 9th Avenue and the Fort Lupton Office at 2950 9th Street.  If you are interested in becoming a DPO and want more information, please contact: Ana Mendoza at 970-475-2824 or e-mail at ana.mendoza@judicial.state.co.us

20th Judicial District (Boulder County)

  • DPO positions are available in the Boulder Office at 1777 6th Street. If you are interested in becoming a DPO and want more information, please contact: Cynthia Huerta at 720-564-2557 or e-mail at cynthia.huerta@judicial.state.co.us

21st Judicial District (Mesa County)

  • DPO positions are available in the Grand Junction Office at 125 N. Spruce.  If you are interested in becoming a DPO and want more information, please contact: Janelle Carsten, Phone: 970-257-8772or email at janelle.carsten@judicial.state.co.us
important announcement contact us   •   interpreters   •   faq   •   photos   •   holidays Menu Important Announcement Home Search Courts Probation Jury Self Help ⁄ Forms Careers Media Administration Contact us Interpreters FAQ Photo Gallery Holiday Schedule
COURTS-WEB-PROD-02a