Skip to main content
Home Self Help Divorce
Home Self Help Divorce
Divorce
These standard instructions are for informational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice about your case. If you choose to represent yourself, you are bound by the same rules and procedures as an attorney.

  • All Family Law Forms
    • Family Law Forms
      • Here is a complete list of    All Family Law Forms. Instructions are listed first. Forms are listed after all the instructions.

         

    • How do I issue a Subpoena?
      • A Subpoena must be served no later than 48 hours prior to the appearance date.

        A Subpoena to Appear is a document issued by the clerk at the request of one of the parties to require the appearance of a witness at a deposition, hearing or trial.

        A Subpoena to Produce (Subpoena Duces Tecum) is a document issued by the clerk at the request of one of the parties to require the witness to bring certain documents or evidence in their possession with them to a deposition, hearing or trial.

        A Court hearing or trial must be set prior to requesting the clerk to issue a Subpoena.

        For additional information, please review C.R.C.P 345.

        Instructions and Forms can be found by clicking on http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/Forms_List.cfm?Form_Type_ID=154

  • I have children with my spouse. How do I get a divorce?
    • 1. Determine if you have lived in Colorado long enough to get a divorce in the state.
      • You or your spouse must have lived in Colorado for at least 91 days before you can file a divorce case in Colorado.

        Please note that if your minor children have not lived in Colorado for at least 182 days immediately prior to you filing your divorce case, the Colorado Courts may not be able to enter any orders related to parental responsibilities.

         

    • 2. Identify where to file your divorce case.
      • You should file your divorce case with the district court in the county where you live or where your spouse lives. To find your district court, click on Courts by County.

         

    • 3. Decide whether you and your spouse will file the divorce case together.
      • You and your spouse can file for divorce together, or you can file the divorce case on your own.

        You decide if you want to file together or file on your own. The court cannot make this decision for you.

    • 4. If you decide to file together, follow these steps.
      • You will be known as the Petitioner and your spouse will be known as the Co-Petitioner.

         

        STEP 1- Download and complete your forms.

        Download and complete these forms:
            JDF 1000 Case Information Sheet, and
            JDF 1101 Petition for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation

        For detailed instructions on how to fill out these forms, see JDF 1100 Instructions for Filing a Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation With Children.

         

        STEP 2- Sign your completed Petition in front of a notary public or court clerk.

        Both you and your spouse must sign the Petition in front of a notary public or a court clerk at the courthouse where you will file your case.  You do not need to do this at the same time (Eg: you can sign in front of a notary or court clerk, give the form to your spouse and have him/her sign in front of a notary or court clerk at a later time).  You can find a local notary public by looking in the Yellow Pages, on the Internet, or by going to your local bank.

        You and your spouse will need to pay any notarization fees.

         

        STEP 3- File your Forms with the Court.

        Take your completed forms to the clerk at the counter in the courthouse. Give the forms to the clerk to file your case.  Either you OR your spouse can drop off the forms at the court, and it is not necessary that you both go together.

        The court will ask you to pay a filing fee. If you do not think you can afford the filing fee, go to the instructions and fill out form JDF 205 Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit and the caption box of JDF 206 Finding and Order Concerning Payment of Fees to request a waiver of the filing fee. For more information go to the File Without Payment section.

        The clerk might ask you to complete additional forms. Please follow the clerk's instructions.

        If you do not understand this information, you may want to contact an attorney.

         

         

         

    • 5. If you decide to file on your own, follow these steps.
      • You will be known as the Petitioner and your spouse will be known as the Respondent.

         

        STEP 1- Download and Complete your Forms.

        Download and complete:
            JDF 1000 Case Information Sheet, 
            JDF 1101 Petition for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation, and 
            JDF 1102 Summons for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation

        For detailed instructions on how to fill out these forms, see JDF 1100 Instructions for Filing a Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation With Children.

         

        STEP 2- Sign your completed Petition in front of a notary public or court clerk.

         Take your completed Petition to either a notary public, or to a court clerk at the courthouse where you will file your case. You can find a local notary public by looking in the Yellow Pages, on the Internet, or by going to your local bank.

         Sign your forms in front of the notary public or court clerk and pay the notarization fee. Your spouse DOES NOT need to sign the forms.

         

        STEP 3- File your forms with the court.

        Take your completed forms to the clerk at the counter in the courthouse. Give the forms to the clerk to file your case.

        The court will ask you to pay a filing fee. If you do not think you can afford the filing fee, go to the instructions and fill out form JDF 205 Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit and the caption box of JDF 206 Finding and Order Concerning Payment of Fees to request a waiver of the filing fee. For more information go to the File Without Payment section.

        The clerk might ask you to complete additional forms. Please follow the clerk's instructions.

         

        STEP 4- Arrange to serve your spouse (the Respondent) with the divorce paperwork

        After you file your forms with the court, you must arrange to deliver JDF 1101 Petition for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation and JDF 1102 Summons for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation to your spouse (the Respondent). The process of having these forms delivered to your spouse is known as personal service.

        The clerk will provide you with a signed copy of JDF 1102 Summons for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation to be served on your spouse.

        Refer to the step-by-step instructions on how to arrange for personal service on your spouse and how to return proof of service to the court.

         

    • 6. Read your Case Management Order and complete additional forms.
      • After you file your case, the clerk will likely give you a Case Management Order. This document contains information about your case such as the date of your Initial Status Conference and requirements for filling out additional forms.

        (1) Mark the Initial Status Conference date on your calendar.

        (2) Additional forms the court may need include:

             JDF 1111 Sworn Financial Statement
             JDF 1104 Certificate of Compliance with C.R.C.P. 16.2(e)
             JDF 1115 Separation Agreement
             JDF 1113 Parenting Plan
             JDF 1116 Decree of Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation
             JDF 1117 Support Order
             JDF 1129 Petitioner/Co-Petitioner/Respondent Pre-Trial Statement

        Refer to the complete list of forms if the court orders you to complete any forms that are not listed above.

        (3) If the Case Management Order gives you specific information on how to schedule a status conference or hearing, follow those steps.  If the Case Management Order does not give you specific information on how to do this, see JDF 1122 Instructions to Set a Hearing and to Complete a Notice of Hearing or Status Conference Form for instructions.

        (4) If you need to calculate child support or maintenance, use the child support/maintenance calculator.

         

    • 7. Go to your Initial Status Conference.
      • You and your spouse should BOTH attend the Initial Status Conference.  Give your spouse notice of the Initial Status Conference at least 14 days before the date of the Initial Status Conference.  Check with the court about how to give notice.  By doing this, you will still be able to move forward with your divorce case even if your spouse does not show up to the Initial Status Conference.

        You must go to the initial status conference even if your spouse has not yet been served.  By law, the Initial Status Conference must happen within 42 days of the filing of your case.

        Bring the forms required by your Case Management Order with you to the Initial Status Conference.

        You will most likely meet with a Family Court Facilitator at your Initial Status Conference. The Family Court Facilitator will help you understand what you need to do during your case and will answer your questions. He or she will also give you instructions about the next steps in your case, but cannot give you legal advice.

         

  • I do not have children with my spouse. How do I get a divorce?
    • 1. Determine if you have lived in Colorado long enough to get a divorce in the state.
      • You or your spouse must have lived in Colorado for at least 91 days before you can file for divorce in this state.

         

    • 2. Identify where to file your divorce case.
      • You should file your divorce case with the district court in the county where you live or where your spouse lives. To find your district court, click on Courts by County.

         

    • 3. Decide whether you and your spouse will file the divorce case together.
      • You and your spouse can file for divorce together, or you can file the divorce case on your own.

        You decide if you want to file together or file on your own. The court cannot make this decision for you.

    • 4. If you decide to file together, follow these steps.
      • You will be known as the Petitioner and your spouse will be known as the Co-Petitioner.

         

        STEP 1- Download and complete your forms.

        Download and complete these forms:
        JDF 1000 Case Information Sheet, and
        JDF 1101 Petition for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation.

        For detailed instructions on how to complete these forms, see JDF 1099 Instructions for Filing a Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation if there are no Children of this Marriage or the Children are Emancipated.

         

        STEP 2- Sign your completed Petition in front of a notary public or court clerk.

        Both you and your spouse must sign the Petition in front of a notary public or a court clerk at the courthouse where you will file your case. You do not need to do this at the same time (Eg: you can sign in front of a notary or court clerk, give the form to your spouse and have him/her sign in front of a notary or court clerk at a later time). You can find a local notary public by looking in the Yellow Pages, on the Internet, or by going to your local bank.

        You and your spouse will need to pay any notarization fees.

         

        STEP 3- File your Forms with the Court.

        Take your completed forms to the clerk at the counter in the courthouse. Give the forms to the clerk to file your case.  Either you OR your spouse can drop off the forms at the court, and it is not necessary that you both go together.

        The court will ask you to pay a filing fee. If you do not think you can afford the filing fee, go to the instructions and fill out form JDF 205 Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit and the caption box of JDF 206 Finding and Order Concerning Payment of Fees to request a waiver of the filing fee. For more information go to the File Without Payment section.

        The clerk might ask you to complete additional forms. Please follow the clerk's instructions.

    • 5. If you decide to file on your own, follow these steps.
      • You will be known as the Petitioner and your spouse will be known as the Respondent.

         

        STEP 1- Download and Complete your Forms.

        Download and complete:
        JDF 1000 Case Information Sheet,
        JDF 1101 Petition for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation, and
        JDF 1102 Summons for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation

        For detailed instructions on how to fill out these forms, see JDF 1099 Instructions for Filing a Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation if there are no Children of this Marriage or the Children are Emancipated.

         

        STEP 2- Sign your completed Petition in front of a notary public or court clerk.

        Take your completed Petition to either a notary public, or to a court clerk at the courthouse where you will file your case. You can find a local notary public by looking in the Yellow Pages, on the internet, or by going to your local bank.

        Sign your forms in front of the notary public or court clerk and pay the notarization fee. Your spouse DOES NOT need to sign the forms.

         

        STEP 3- File your forms with the court.

        Take your completed forms to the clerk at the counter in the courthouse. Give the forms to the clerk to file your case.

        The court will ask you to pay a filing fee. If you do not think you can afford the filing fee, go to the instructions and fill out form JDF 205 Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit and the caption box of JDF 206 Finding and Order Concerning Payment of Fees to request a waiver of the filing fee. For more information go to the File Without Payment section.

        The clerk might ask you to complete additional forms. Please follow the clerk's instructions.

         

        STEP 4- Arrange to serve your spouse (the Respondent) with the divorce paperwork.

        After you file your forms with the court, you must arrange to have JDF 1101 Petition for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation and JDF 1102 Summons for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation delivered to your spouse (the Respondent). The process of having these forms delivered to your spouse is known as personal service.

        The clerk will provide you with a signed copy of JDF 1102 Summons for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation to be served on your spouse.

        Refer to the step-by-step instructions on how to arrange for personal service on your spouse and how to return proof of service to the court.

         

    • 6. Read your Case Management Order and complete additional forms.
      • After you file your case, the clerk will likely give you a Case Management Order. This document contains information about your case such as the date of your Initial Status Conference and requirements for filling out additional forms.

        (1) Mark the Initial Status Conference date on your calendar.

        (2) Additional forms the court may need include:

        JDF 1111 Sworn Financial Statement
        JDF 1104 Certificate of Compliance with C.R.C.P. 16.2(e)
        JDF 1115 Separation Agreement
        JDF 1116 Decree of Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation
        JDF 1117 Support Order
        JDF 1129 Petitioner/Co-Petitioner/Respondent Pre-Trial Statement

        Refer to the complete list of forms if the court orders you to complete any forms that are not listed above.

        (3) If the Case Management Order gives you specific information on how to schedule a status conference or hearing, follow those steps. If the Case Management Order does not give you specific information on how to do this, see JDF 1122 Instructions to Set a Hearing and to Complete a Notice of Hearing or Status Conference Form for instructions.

        (4) If you need to calculate child support or maintenance, use the child support/maintenance calculator.

    • 7. Go to your Initial Status Conference.
      • You and your spouse should BOTH attend the Initial Status Conference. Give your spouse notice of the Initial Status Conference at least 14 days before the date of the Initial Status Conference.  Check with the court about how to give notice.  By doing this, you will still be able to move forward with your divorce case even if your spouse does not show up to the Initial Status Conference.

        You must go to the initial status conference even if your spouse has not yet been served. By law, the Initial Status Conference must happen within 42 days of the filing of your case.

        Bring the forms required by your Case Management Order with you to the Initial Status Conference.

        You will most likely meet with a Family Court Facilitator at your Initial Status Conference. The Family Court Facilitator will help you understand what you need to do during your case and will answer your questions. He or she will also give you instructions about the next steps in your case, but cannot give you legal advice.

  • How do I enforce court orders related to my divorce?
    • How to Enforce Child Support or Maintenance Orders
      • NOTE:  Before trying to enforce a child support order on your own, you may want to first contact your local child support enforcement office for help.

        STEP 1- Decide which enforcement option you want to use. If your former spouse/other person is not paying the child support or maintenance (alimony) that he/she was ordered to pay, there are three options:

        Option 1: Income Assignment - An "income assignment" allows your former spouse's/other person's employer to take the money owed to you out of his/her paycheck, and pay it to you directly or through the Family Support Registry. See STEP 1A.

         

        STEP 1A (Income Assignment) - See §14-14-111.5, C.R.S. for more information.

         

        Option 2: Garnish your former spouse/other person's wages or put a lien on their property - If you are owed child support and/or maintenance and your former spouse/other person does not pay when a payment is due,  a money Judgment is automatically entered against them and you can take steps to enforce the judgment through a garnishment or lien. See STEP 1B.

         

        STEP 1B (Garnish your former spouse/other person's wages or put a lien on their property)

        You will first need to fill out and file JDF 1813 Verified Entry of Support Judgment with the court.  There is no filing fee to file this form.

        Review JDF 82 Instructions for Collecting a Judgment and Completing a Writ of Garnishment for information on how to file a Form 31 Writ of Garnishment for Support and how to put a lien on someone's property.

         

        Option 3: Contempt of Court - You can ask the court to find (determine) that your former spouse/other person is in contempt of court for not obeying the court order. Your former spouse/other person can be punished with fines or even jail for continuing to disobey the order to pay. See STEP 1C.

         

        STEP 1C Contempt of Court - fill out JDF 1816 Verified Motion & Affidavit for Citation for Contempt of Court and JDF 1817 Order to Issue Citation & Citation to Show Cause.

        Refer to JDF 1800 Instructions for Filing Motions to Enforce Orders for detailed instructions on how to fill out these forms. Here are some helpful tips for filing out these forms:

        (a) You will use the original divorce or custody case number as the case number for these forms.

        (b) You and your former spouse/other person will have the same "identities" to the court as you did in the original case. For example, if you were the Petitioner in the original case, you will be the "Petitioner" on these forms.

        (c) You may give your forms to the court in person or by mailing them.

        (d) There is no filing fee.

        Fill out JDF 1816 Verified Motion & Affidavit for Citation for Contempt of Court and make a copy. You must sign this form in front of a notary public or court clerk.

        Fill out only the top caption portion of JDF 1817 Order to Issue Citation & Citation to Show Cause.

        File the original of JDF 1816 Verified Motion & Affidavit for Citation for Contempt of Court and JDF 1817 Order to Issue Citation & Citation to Show Cause with the court.

        The court will contact you to set a date for a hearing or the court will send you JDF 1817 Order to Issue Citation & Citation to Show Cause with a hearing date and time on the form.

        You will need to arrange for personal service of JDF 1816 Verified Motion & Affidavit for Citation for Contempt of Court and JDF 1817 Order to Issue Citation & Citation to Show Cause on your former spouse/other person.  Refer to the step-by-step instructions on how to arrange for personal service and how to return proof of service to the court.

    • How to Enforce Parenting Time Orders
      • STEP 1- Decide which enforcement option you want to use. If your former spouse/other person is not obeying the court order for parenting time, there are two options:

        Option 1: File a Motion with the court to enforce the parenting time order. See STEP 1A.

         

        STEP 1A (File a Motion with the Court) - Fill out JDF 1418 Verified Motion Concerning Parenting Time Disputes and JDF 1419 Order re: Parenting Time.

        Review JDF 1418I Instructions to File a Motion Concerning Parenting Time Disputes for detailed instructions on how to fill out these forms. Here are some helpful tips for filing out the forms:

        (a) You will use the case number from the original divorce or custody case as the case number for these forms.

        (b) You and your former spouse/other person will have the same "identities" to the court as you did in the original case. For example, if you were the Petitioner in the original case, you will be the Petitioner on these forms.

        (c) You may give your forms to the court in person or by mailing them.

        (d) There is no filing fee.

        Fill out JDF 1418 Verified Motion Concerning Parenting Time Disputes and make a copy. You must sign this form in front of a notary public or court clerk.  Mail or hand-deliver a copy to your former spouse/other person.  After you mail or hand-deliver a copy of JDF 1418 Verified Motion Concerning Parenting Time Disputes on your former spouse/other person, fill out the Certificate of Service part of the form and then file a copy with the court.

        Fill out only the top caption portion of JDF 1419 Order re: Parenting Time. The court will fill out the rest of this form. You DO NOT need to mail or hand-deliver a copy of JDF 1419 Order re: Parenting Time to your former spouse/other person. File JDF 1419 Order re: Parenting Time with the court along with JDF 1418 Verified Motion Concerning Parenting Time Disputes.

        After you have filed JDF 1418 Verified Motion Concerning Parenting Time Disputes and JDF 1419 Order re: Parenting Time with the court, wait for a response from the court.

         

        Option 2: Contempt of Court - You can ask the court to find (decide) that your former spouse/other person is in contempt of court for not obeying the court order on parenting time. Your former spouse/other person can be punished with fines or even jail for continuing to disobey the order. See STEP 1B.

         

        STEP 1B (Contempt of Court) - fill out JDF 1816 Verified Motion & Affidavit for Citation for Contempt of Court and JDF 1817 Order to Issue Citation & Citation to Show Cause.

        Refer to JDF 1800 Instructions for Filing Motions to Enforce Orders for detailed instructions on how to fill out these forms. Here are some helpful tips for filing out these forms:

        (a) You will use the original divorce or custody case number as the case number for these forms.

        (b) You and your former spouse/other person will have the same "identities" to the court as you did in the original case. For example, if you were the Petitioner in the original case, you will be the "Petitioner" on these forms.

        (c) You may give your forms to the court in person or by mailing them.

        (d) There is no filing fee.

        Fill out JDF 1816 Verified Motion & Affidavit for Citation for Contempt of Court and make a copy. You must sign this form in front of a notary public or court clerk.

        Fill out only the top caption portion of JDF 1817 Order to Issue Citation & Citation to Show Cause.

        File the original of JDF 1816 Verified Motion & Affidavit for Citation for Contempt of Court and JDF 1817 Order to Issue Citation & Citation to Show Cause with the court.

        The court will contact you to set a date for a hearing or the court will send you JDF 1817 Order to Issue Citation & Citation to Show Cause with a hearing date and time on the form.

        You will need to arrange for personal service of JDF 1816 Verified Motion & Affidavit for Citation for Contempt of Court and JDF 1817 Order to Issue Citation & Citation to Show Cause on your former spouse/other person. Refer to the step-by-step instructions on how to arrange for personal service and how to return proof of service to the court.

    • How to Enforce Orders Related to Property Rights
      • STEP 1 - Fill out Form JDF 1814 Motion for Clerk of Court to Transfer Title Per C.R.C.P. 70 and JDF 1815 Order for Clerk of Court to Transfer Title Per C.R.C.P. 70  if the court ordered that you have the right to ownership of certain property (for example a house or car) but your former spouse/other person refuses to sign the property over to you.

        Review JDF 1800 Instructions for Filing Motions to Enforce Orders for detailed instructions on how to fill out these forms. Here are some helpful tips for filing out the forms:

        (a) Use the case number from your original divorce case as the case number for these forms.

        (b) You and your former spouse/other person will have the same "identities" to the court as you did in the original case. For example, if you were the Petitioner in the original case, you will be the "Petitioner" on these forms.

        (c) There is no filing fee.

        Fill out JDF 1814 Motion for Clerk of Court to Transfer Title Per C.R.C.P. 70 and make a copy. You must sign this form in front of a notary public or court clerk. You will need to mail or hand-deliver a copy of JDF 1814 Motion for Clerk of Court to Transfer Title Per C.R.C.P. 70 to your former spouse/other person. After you mail or hand-deliver a copy of JDF 1814 Motion for Clerk of Court to Transfer Title Per C.R.C.P. 70 to your former spouse/other person, fill out the Certificate of Service part of the form and then file it with the court.

        Fill out only the top caption portion of JDF 1815 Order for Clerk of Court to Transfer Title Per C.R.C.P. 70.  The court will fill out the rest of this form. You DO NOT need to mail or hand-deliver a copy of JDF 1815 Order for Clerk of Court to Transfer Title Per C.R.C.P. 70 to your former spouse/other person.

         

        STEP 2 - File your completed forms with the court.

        You will file your completed forms with the same court that gave you the original order related to the property.

        NOTE:  You must file the original paper versions of your completed forms by giving them to the court in person or by mailing them to the court.

         

        STEP 3 - Wait for the court to respond to your Motion.

         

         

         

  • How do I register my divorce from another state in Colorado?
    • Forms Associated with Registering an Out of State Divorce
      • This is a list of FORMS that may be needed in the process of Registering an Out of State Foreign Decree.

        Instructions:

        JDF 1215 - Evaluation of a Foreign Decree, a Foreign Custody Determination, and a Foreign Support Order

        JDF 1220 - Instructions to File a Foreign Decree

        Forms:

        JDF 1000 - Case Information Sheet

        JDF 1221 - Petition to Register Foreign Decree (Please file with JDF 1000)

        JDF 1222 - Summons for Registration of Foreign Decree

        JDF 1222 (a) - Waiver and Acceptance of Service

        JDF 1222 (b) - Return of Service

        Orders:

        JDF 1223 - Order to Confirm Foreign Decree

         

         

    • 1. Identify what you need before you start.
      • If you were divorced in another state and you move to Colorado, you can register your divorce paperwork in Colorado. Once you register your divorce paperwork in Colorado, you can ask a court in Colorado to enforce any orders having to do with the divorce case from the other state.

        Before you ask a Colorado court to register your out-of-state divorce case, you will need to get exemplified copies of all written paperwork from the out of state case including court orders, judgments and decrees.

        NOTE:  DO NOT use this process for problems related to children such as registering an out-of-state child-custody or child-support order. Refer to the information on registering an out-of-state child-custody order.

         

    • 2. Identify where you should file your paperwork.
    • 3. Decide whether you and your former spouse will file the case together.
      • You and your former spouse can file your case together, or you can file the case on your own.

        You decide if you want to file together or file on your own. The court cannot make this decision for you.

    • 4. If you decide to file together with your former spouse, follow these steps.
      • You and your former spouse will have the same "identities" as you did in the original out-of-state case. For example, if you were the Petitioner in the original case, you will be the "Petitioner" when you file these forms.

         

        STEP 1- Download and complete your forms.

        Download and complete these forms:
        JDF 1000 Case Information Sheet, and
        JDF 1221 Petition to Register Foreign Decree

        For detailed instructions on how to complete these forms, review JDF 1220 Instructions to File a Foreign Decree.

         

        STEP 2- File your Forms with the Court.

        Take your completed forms to the clerk at the counter in the courthouse. Give the forms to the clerk to file your case.  Either you OR your former spouse can drop off the forms at the court, and it is not necessary that you both go together.

        Remember to give the exemplified copies of the paperwork from the out-of-state case to the clerk along with your completed forms.

        The court will ask you to pay a filing fee. If you do not think you can afford the filing fee, go to the instructions and fill out form JDF 205 Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit and the caption box of JDF 206 Finding and Order Concerning Payment of Fees to request a waiver of the filing fee.

        The clerk might ask you to complete additional forms. Please follow the clerk's instructions.

    • 5. If you decide to file on your own, follow these steps.
      • You and your former spouse will have the same "identities" as you did in the original out-of-state case. For example, if you were the "Petitioner" in the original case, you will be the "Petitioner" when you file these forms.

         

        STEP 1- Download and Complete your Forms.

        * Download and complete:
        * JDF 1000 Case Information Sheet,
        * JDF 1221 Petition to Register Foreign Decree, and
        * JDF 1222 Summons for Registration of Foreign Decree.

        For detailed instructions on how to fill out these forms, review JDF 1220 Instructions to File a Foreign Decree.

         

        STEP 2- File your forms with the court.

        * Take your completed forms to the clerk at the counter in the courthouse. Give the forms to the clerk to file your case.

        * Remember to give the exemplified copies of the paperwork from the out-of-state case to the clerk along with your completed forms.

        * The court will ask you to pay a filing fee. If you do not think you can afford the filing fee, go to the instructions and fill out form JDF 205 Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit and the caption box of JDF 206 Finding and Order Concerning Payment of Fees to request a waiver of the filing fee.

        * The clerk might ask you to complete additional forms. Please follow the clerk's instructions.

         

        STEP 3- Arrange to serve your former spouse.

        * After you file your forms with the court, you must arrange to have JDF 1221 Petition to Register Foreign Decree and JDF 1222 Summons for Registration of Foreign Decree delivered to your former spouse. The process of having these forms delivered to your former spouse is known as personal service.

        * The clerk will provide you with a signed copy of JDF 1222 Summons for Registration of Foreign Decree to be served on your former spouse.

        * Refer to the step-by-step instructions on how to arrange for personal service on your spouse and how to return proof of service to the court.

         

  • How do I answer if I receive paperwork related to divorce?
    • How to answer if you receive papers asking for divorce
      • STEP 1 - Read the paperwork

        Decide whether or not you agree with the information in the paperwork.

         

        STEP 2 - Identify where you should file your paperwork to answer.

        The location and contact information of the court where the divorce was filed is on the top of the divorce paperwork you received.

        Give your paperwork to the same court that is listed on the divorce paperwork you received.

         

        STEP 3 - Fill out the Response form

        Download and complete Form JDF 1103 Response to the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation.

        You are the Respondent and your spouse is the Petitioner.

        The case number is on the top of the divorce paperwork you received. Use that same number on your response form.

        Check the "Dissolution of Marriage" box in the top portion of JDF 1103 Response to the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation.

        You will need to mail or hand-deliver a copy of JDF 1103 Response to the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation to your spouse. After you mail or hand-deliver the Response to your spouse, complete the Certificate of Service part of the form before filing the form with the court.

         

        STEP 4 - File your Response form with the court

        Take your completed JDF 1103 Response to the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation to the clerk at the counter in the courthouse.

        The court will ask you to pay a filing fee. If you do not think you can afford the filing fee, go to the instructions and fill out form JDF 205 Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit and the caption box of JDF 206 Finding and Order Concerning Payment of Fees to request a waiver of the filing fee. For more information go to the File Without Payment section.

    • How to answer if you receive papers asking to change orders related to your divorce or custody case
      • STEP 1 - Read the paperwork

        Decide whether or not you agree with the information in the paperwork.

         

        STEP 2 - Identify where you should file your paperwork to answer.

        The location and contact information of the court where the original divorce or custody case was filed is on the top of the paperwork you received.

        Give your paperwork to the same court that is listed on the paperwork you received.

         

        STEP 3 - Fill out the Response form

        Download and complete Form JDF 1315 Response.

        You and your former spouse/other person will have the same "identities" as you did in the original divorce or custody case. For example, if you were the Petitioner in the original case, you will be the Petitioner when you file your response form.

        The case number is on the top of the paperwork you received. Use that same number on your response form.

        You will need to mail or hand-deliver a copy of JDF 1315 Response to your former spouse/other person. After you mail or hand-deliver the Response to your former spouse/other person, complete the Certificate of Service part of the form before filing the form with the court.

         

        STEP 4 - File your Response form with the court

        Take your completed JDF 1315 Response to the clerk at the courthouse.

        The court may ask you to pay a filing fee. If you do not think you can afford the filing fee, go to the instructions and fill out form JDF 205 Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit and the caption box of JDF 206 Finding and Order Concerning Payment of Fees to request a waiver of the filing fee. For more information go to the File Without Payment section.

    • How to answer if you receive papers saying that you violated a court order
      • STEP 1 - Read the paperwork

        Decide whether or not you agree with the information in the paperwork.

         

        STEP 2 - Identify where you should file your paperwork to answer.

        The location and contact information of the court where the original case was filed is on the top of the paperwork you received.

        Give your paperwork to the same court that is listed on the paperwork you received.

         

        STEP 3 - Fill out the Response form

        Download and complete Form JDF 1315 Response.

        You and your former spouse/other person will have the same "identities" as you did in the original case. For example, if you were the Petitioner in the original case, you will be the Petitioner when you file your response form.

        The case number is on the top of the paperwork you received. Use that same number on your response form.

        You will need to mail or hand-deliver a copy of JDF 1315 Response to your former spouse/other person. After you mail or hand-deliver the Response to your former spouse/other person, complete the Certificate of Service part of the form before filing the form with the court.

         

        STEP 4 - File your Response form with the court

        Take your completed JDF 1315 Response to the clerk at the courthouse.

        The court may ask you to pay a filing fee. If you do not think you can afford the filing fee, go to the instructions and fill out form JDF 205 Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit and the caption box of JDF 206 Finding and Order Concerning Payment of Fees to request a waiver of the filing fee. For more information go to the File Without Payment section.

    • How to answer if you receive papers asking to register your out-of-state divorce in Colorado
      • STEP 1 - Read the paperwork

        Decide whether or not you agree with the information in the paperwork.

         

        STEP 2 - Identify where you should file your paperwork to answer.

        The location and contact information of the court where the case to register the out-of-state divorce was filed is on the top of the paperwork you received.

        Give your paperwork to the same court that is listed on the paperwork you received.

         

        STEP 3 - Fill out the Response form

        Download and complete Form JDF 1315 Response.

        You and your former spouse will have the same "identities" as you did in the original divorce case. For example, if you were the Petitioner in the original case, you will be the Petitioner when you file your response form.

        The case number is on the top of the paperwork you received. Use that same number on your response form.

        You will need to mail or hand-deliver a copy of JDF 1315 Response to your former spouse. After you mail or hand-deliver the Response to your former spouse, complete the Certificate of Service part of the form before filing the form with the court.

         

        STEP 4 - File your Response form with the court

        Take your completed JDF 1315 Response to the clerk at the courthouse.

        The court will ask you to pay a filing fee. If you do not think you can afford the filing fee, go to the instructions and fill out form JDF 205 Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit and the caption box of JDF 206 Finding and Order Concerning Payment of Fees to request a waiver of the filing fee. For more information go to the File Without Payment section.

    • How to answer if you receive papers asking to change your legal separation to a divorce
      • STEP 1 - Read the paperwork

        Decide whether or not you agree with the information in the paperwork.

         

        STEP 2 - Identify where you should file your paperwork to answer.

        The location and contact information of the court where the original legal separation case was filed is on the top of the paperwork you received.

        Give your paperwork to the same court that is listed on the paperwork you received.

         

        STEP 3 - Fill out the Response form

        Download and complete Form JDF 1315 Response.

        You and your spouse will have the same "identities" as you did in the original legal separation case. For example, if you were the Petitioner in the original case, you will be the "Petitioner" when you file your response form.

        The case number is on the top of the paperwork you received. Use that same number on your response form.

        You will need to mail or hand-deliver a copy of JDF 1315 Response to your spouse. After you mail or hand-deliver JDF 1315 Response to your spouse, complete the Certificate of Service part of the form before filing the form with the court.

         

        STEP 4 - File your response with the court

        Take your completed JDF 1315 Response to the clerk at the courthouse.

        The court may ask you to pay a filing fee. If you do not think you can afford the filing fee, go to the instructions and fill out form JDF 205 Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit and the caption box of JDF 206 Finding and Order Concerning Payment of Fees to request a waiver of the filing fee. For more information go to the File Without Payment section.

  • How do I change my legal separation to a divorce?
    • 1. Determine when you can submit your paperwork.
      • You must wait at least 182 days from the date your legal separation was finalized by the court (when the Decree of Legal Separation was entered) before you can file paperwork to change the legal separation to a divorce.

    • 2. Identify where you should file your paperwork.
      • You must file your paperwork with the same court that finalized your legal separation.

    • 3. Fill out the correct forms and mail or hand-deliver a copy to your spouse.
      • You and your spouse will have the same "identities" to the court as you did in the original legal separation case. For example, if you were the Petitioner in the original case, you will be the Petitioner when you complete these forms.

        Download and complete:
        JDF 1321 Motion to Convert Decree of Legal Separation to Decree of Dissolution of Marriage,
        JDF 1322 Order to Convert Decree of Legal Separation to Decree of Dissolution of Marriage, and
        JDF 1116 Decree of Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation

        For detailed instructions on how to fill out these forms, review JDF 1325 Instructions to Convert Decree of Legal Separation to Decree of Dissolution of Marriage.

        You will sign your completed JDF 1321 Motion to Convert Decree of Legal Separation to Decree of Dissolution of Marriage. Your spouse DOES NOT need to sign the form.

        Fill out only the top caption part of JDF 1322 Order to Convert Decree of Legal Separation to Decree of Dissolution of Marriage and the court will fill out the rest. You DO NOT need to sign this form.

        Fill out the top caption portion of JDF 1116 Decree of Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation and check the "Dissolution of Marriage" (Divorce) box. The court will fill in the rest of this form. You DO NOT need to sign this form.

        You will need to mail or hand-deliver a copy of JDF 1321 Motion to Convert Decree of Legal Separation to Decree of Dissolution of Marriage to your spouse. After you mail or hand-deliver the Motion to your spouse, complete the Certificate of Service part of the form and then file ALL of your forms (JDF 1321 Motion to Convert Decree of Legal Separation to Decree of Dissolution of Marriage, JDF 1322 Order to Convert Decree of Legal Separation to Decree of Dissolution of Marriage, and JDF 1116 Decree of Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation) with the court.

    • 4. File your completed forms with the court.
      • Take your completed forms (JDF 1321 Motion to Convert Decree of Legal Separation to Decree of Dissolution of Marriage, JDF 1322 Order to Convert Decree of Legal Separation to Decree of Dissolution of Marriage, and JDF 1116 Decree of Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation) to the clerk at the courthouse.

        The court will ask you to pay a filing fee. If you do not think you can afford the filing fee, go to the instructions and fill out form JDF 205 Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit and the caption box of JDF 206 Finding and Order Concerning Payment of Fees to request a waiver of the filing fee. For more information go to the File Without Payment section.

         

  • How do I restore my name after a divorce or legal separation?
    • What is the Process for Name Restoration?
      • The Petitioner or Co-Petitioner can request that the Court restore his/her prior full name to what it was before the marriage when the petition is filed. It is #20 on the Petition.   

        OR

        File JDF 1824 Verified Motion and Affidavit for Name Restoration After Dissolution of Marriage/Civil Union or Legal Separation in the court where the decree for dissolution of marriage/civil union or legal separation was entered. This can be done at any time after a decree has been entered in your case.    

        File JDF 1825 Order for Name Restoration After Dissolution of Marriage/Civil Union or Legal Separation along with JDF 1824. Only the information in the caption box is to be filled out. The court will fill out the rest.       

    • What are the fees for a name restoration?
      • If you file for a name restoration within 60 days after the decree has been signed there is no filing fee. If you file with the court after 60 days then there is a filing fee of $105.00 payable to the court when you file for your name restoration.    

important announcement contact us   •   interpreters   •   faq   •   photos   •   holidays Menu Important Announcement Home Search Courts Probation Jury Self Help ⁄ Forms Careers Media Administration Contact us Interpreters FAQ Photo Gallery Holiday Schedule