Skip to main content
Home Courts By County Jefferson County Divorce and Family Matters
Home Courts By County Jefferson County Divorce and Family Matters
Divorce and Family Matters

 

Do you qualify for a simplified divorce?

  • No children together under the age of 19
  • Both parties are in full agreement
  • Assets combined under $6000
  • Debts combined under $6000
  • Comparable incomes

 

If not....See below

 

Starting a divorce/legal separation case  

   Divorce/Legal Separation NO children (instructions)                               Peticion de Divorcio sin Hijos.

   Divorce/Legal Separation with children (instructions)                              Peticion de Divorcion con Hijos.

  

Starting a Parental Responsibilities case (APR)

 APR - custody for parents never married (instructions)                              Peticion de asignacion de obligaciones de los padres.

 

Pilot Project Forms (For use in Jefferson County Only) 

The forms listed below are part of a plain language pilot project in Jefferson County.  If you do not see a required form that is listed in the instructions above, they can be found here.  These forms will print out with a watermark.  

Fee Waiver Application (optional)

Case Information Sheet

Petition for Divorce or Legal Separation

Petition for Parental Responsibilities (never married - custody)

Property and Financial Agreement (divorce or legal separation cases only - also known as Separation Agreement)

Parenting Plan

How to serve the other person in a divorce or legal separation case

*  What can I do if I can't find the other person to serve?  Motion for Other Types of Service and Required Order

                    

How do I change my current orders (parenting time and/or decision making)?

Request and Affidavit to Change/Restrict Parenting Time

Request and Affidavit to Change Decision Making (can also be used for a stipulation)

 

Local Miscellaneous Forms

 

FREE LEGAL CLINICS

  •  How to Start your Own Divorce/APR (Custody) Case
  • "Ask an Attorney" sessions

 

VIDEOS

   Evidence

   Filing a Contempt Motion

   New Families, New Future, Divorce and Child Custody

 

RESOURCES

  Domestic Violence Programs in Colorado

If you are a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking Family Tree (303) 271-6559 may be able to help you fill out the paperwork for a protection order. Their office is located in room 1070 on the first floor of the Jefferson County Courthouse. 

  Mediation for Family Law Cases

  Parenting Classes

  Talking Parents   A FREE replacement for email, text, and all other electronic messages between parents.  

 

Child and Family Investigator (CFI) Information

  Colorado CFI Requirements

 

 

important announcement contact us   •   interpreters   •   faq   •   photos   •   holidays Menu Important Announcement Home Search Courts Probation Jury Self Help ⁄ Forms Careers Media Administration Contact us Interpreters FAQ Photo Gallery Holiday Schedule
COURTS-WEB-PROD-02a