Skip to main content
Home Self Help Conservatorship for Minors
Home Self Help Conservatorship for Minors
Conservatorship for Minors
These standard instructions are for informational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice about your case. If you choose to represent yourself, you are bound by the same rules and procedures as an attorney.

  • FORMS for Conservatorship for Minors
    • Forms for Conservatorship for Minors
      • This page will help you learn about Conservatorship Probate rules & laws in Colorado, case filing form & fee requirements and common legal terms.

         

        Instructions

        JDF 860 - Instructions for Appointment of Conservator - Minor

         

        Forms

        JDF 714 - Affidavit Regarding Due Diligence and Proof of Publication

        JDF 716 - Notice of Hearing by Publication

        JDF 719 - Waiver of Notice

        JDF 721 - Irrevocable Power of Attorney

        JDF 800 - Acknowledgment of Responsibilities Conservator and/or Guardian

        JDF 805 - Acceptance of Office

        JDF 806 - Notice of Hearing to Interested Persons

        JDF 807 - Notice of Hearing to Respondent (Adult or Minor)

        JDF 812 - Notice of Appointment of Guardian and/or Conservator

        JDF 826 - Consent or Nomination of Minor

        JDF 861 - Petition for Appointment of Conservator - Minor

        JDF 862 - Order Appointing Conservator for Minor

        JDF 863 - Letters of Conservatorship - Minor

        JDF 865 - Order for Deposit of Funds to Restricted Account - Conservatorship

        JDF 866 - Order for Deposit of Funds to Restricted Account and Annual Filing of Restricted Account Report

         

        JDF 877 - Order Appointing Special Conservator - Adult or Minor

        JDF 882 - Conservator's Finanical Plan with Inventory and Motion for Approval

        JDF 883 - Order Regarding Conservator's Financial Plan

        JDF 885 - Conservator's Report

        CBI - Criminal History Record Information and Fees

  • How do I become the conservator for a minor?
    • 1. Determine whether you meet the requirements to be a conservator.
      • Any person concerned about the minor's financial situation, or any person who would be negatively affected if the minor's finances are not managed correctly can file a conservatorship case.

        You must be at least 21 years old to be the conservator for a minor.  You can ask the court to name you as the conservator, or you can ask the court to name someone else who is at least 21 years old.

        You can be the conservator for a minor who lives in Colorado even if you live in another state.

        The court will name a conservator for a minor only if the court decides that it would be in the best interest of the minor to do so.

        The court may name a conservator for the minor if:
        1. The minor owns money or property that needs protection due to the age of the minor, OR
        2.  For reasons other than age, the minor is not able to make financial decisions without help.

        Before the court names you as the conservator, it will review your criminal history and current credit report to make sure that you are a good choice to be the conservator.

    • 2. Determine what information you need before you start your case.
      • Before you start your case, you (or anyone else who wants to be the conservator) will need these things:
        1. A copy of your criminal history report from the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI)
        2. A copy of your current credit report
        3. A copy of your driver's license

        NOTE:  If you are the minor's (Respondent's) parent and you live with the minor, you must provide a copy of your driver's license.  However, you may not need to provide your criminal history report or your credit report.  Please check with the court you are filing your case with regarding these requirements.

        To get a copy of your criminal history report, you can go to the CBI's website.

        You can also go to the CBI directly at 690 Kipling Street, Denver, CO 80215. You can reach the CBI by phone at 303-239-4300. There will be a fee for running your criminal history report.

        Even if there is nothing on your criminal history report, you will still need to file this document with the court.

        You can use any credit reporting agency to get your current credit report. Here are few choices:
        1. Equifax, Inc., P.O. Box 740241, Atlanta, GA 30374, 1-800-685-1111, or at www.equifax.com
        2Experian, P.O. Box 2002, Allen, TX 75013, 1-888-397-3742, or at www.experian.com
        3. TransUnion, P.O. Box 2000, Chester, PA 19022, 1-800-916-8800, or at www.transunion.com

        Make sure to black-out your social security number on the credit report. There may be a fee for getting your credit report.

        When you make a photo-copy of your driver's license, make sure the copy is clear enough for the court to read.

    • 3. Determine where to file your case.
      • You should file your case with the district court in the county where the minor (Respondent) lives.

        If the minor (Respondent) does not live in Colorado, you can file the case in any county in Colorado where the minor owns property.

        To find the correct district court, search Courts by County. If it is Denver, you will need to file your case in the Denver Probate Court.

    • 4. Fill out the paperwork to start your case.
      • The person filing the case will be known as the Petitioner.  The minor who may need a conservator will be known as the Minor or the Respondent.

        Download and complete these forms:
        JDF 861 Petition for Appointment of Conservator for Minor
        JDF 805 Acceptance of Office
        JDF 863 Letters of Conservatorship - Minor
        JDF 862 Order Appointing Conservator for Minor
        JDF 826 Consent or Nomination of Minor (Use only if the minor is at least 12 years old)
        JDF 721 Irrevocable Power of Attorney (Use only if the person who wants to be the conservator does not live in Colorado)

        For detailed instructions on completing the forms, see JDF 860 Instructions for Appointment of a Conservator - Minor.

        JDF 861 Petition for Appointment of Conservator for Minor, and JDF 805 Acceptance of Office must be signed in front of a Notary Public or court clerk. You can find a Notary Public by looking in the Yellow Pages, on the internet, or by going to your local bank.

        If the minor is at least 12 years old, the minor will need to sign JDF 826 Consent or Nomination of Minor in front of a Notary Public or court clerk.

        Fill out only the top caption part of JDF 862 Order Appointing Conservator for Minor and JDF 863 Letters of Conservatorship - Minor. The court will fill out the rest.

        Take your completed forms to the courthouse and give them to the clerk to file your case. You will also give the clerk your criminal history report, your credit report, and the copy of your driver's license.

        The court will ask you to pay a filing fee. If you do not think you can afford it, you can request a waiver of the filing fee by completing form JDF 205 Motion to File Without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit, and the caption box of JDF 206 Finding and Order Concerning Payment of Fees. For more information visit the File Without Payment page.

        After you file these forms and documents with the court, you will get a case number.  You can ask the clerk how to get a court date for a hearing.

    • 5. Give notice to the minor and other interested persons.
      • After you file your paperwork with the court and get a date for a hearing, you must give notice of the hearing date and time, along with a copy of JDF 861 Petition for Appointment of Conservator for Minor, to both the minor (Respondent) (if the minor is at least 12 years old) as well as to all other persons interested in the case, at least 14 days before the hearing.

        For a list of interested persons who must get notice, see JDF 860 Instructions for Appointment of a Conservator - Minor.

        There are different requirements for giving notice to the minor and to other interested persons, and these notices must be done separately.

        To give notice to the minor (this applies only if the minor is at least 12 years old):
        1. Fill out JDF 807 Notice of Hearing to Respondent.
        2. You must arrange to have JDF 807 Notice of Hearing to Respondent along with a copy of JDF 861 Petition for Appointment of Conservator for Minor delivered to the minor. The process of having these forms delivered is known as personal service.
        3. Refer to the step-by-step instructions on how to arrange for personal service and how to return proof of service to the court.

        To give notice to other interested persons:
        1. Fill out JDF 806 Notice of Hearing to Interested Persons.
        2. You must mail or hand-deliver a copy of JDF 806 Notice of Hearing to Interested Persons along with a copy of JDF 861 Petition for Appointment of Conservator for Minor to each interested person.
        3. After mailing or hand-delivering copies of the forms, complete the Certificate of Service part of JDF 806 Notice of Hearing to Interested Persons and file it with the court.

         

    • 6. Determine what you need to do after you become the conservator.
      • After the court names you as the conservator for the minor, the minor will be referred to as the "Protected Person".

        After the court names you as the conservator, you must complete JDF 800 Acknowledgment of Responsibilities and file it with the court. After you file this form, check with the court to find out how to obtain a certified copy of JDF 863 Letters of Conservatorship - Minor. This is the document that proves you are the conservator. You may be required to pay a fee to obtain a certified copy of the Letters.

        You will need to mail or hand-deliver a copy of JDF 885 Conservator's Report to the Protected Person (if the minor is at least 12 years old) and to all other interested persons. After mailing or hand-delivering a copy, fill out the Certificate of Service part of the form and file it with the court.

        Within 30 days after being named as the conservator, you must complete JDF 812 Notice of Appointment of Conservator and mail or hand-deliver a copy to the Protected Person (if the minor is at least 12 years old) and to all other interested persons. After mailing or hand-delivering a copy, fill out the Certificate of Service part of the form and file it with the court.

        Within 90 days after being named as the conservator by the court or otherwise ordered by the court, you must complete JDF 882 Conservator's Financial Plan with Inventory and Motion for Approval and file it with the court. You should also file JDF 883 Order Regarding Conservator's Financial Plan with the court. Fill out only the top "caption" part of JDF 883 Order Regarding Conservator's Financial Plan and the court will fill out the rest.

        Depending on the court, the Letters may be valid for only one year and may be renewed after you file a completed JDF 885 Conservator's Report, which must be filed once a year or as otherwise directed by the court. Check with the court to find out when your yearly report is due.

        You will need to mail or hand-deliver a copy of JDF 882 Conservator's Financial Plan with Inventory and Motion for Approval to the Protected Person (if the minor is at least 12 years old) and to all other interested persons within 10 days of being filed with the court. After mailing or hand-delivering a copy, fill out the Certificate of Service part of the form and file it with the court.

important announcement contact us   •   interpreters   •   faq   •   photos   •   holidays Menu Important Announcement Home Search Courts Probation Jury Self Help ⁄ Forms Careers Media Administration Contact us Interpreters FAQ Photo Gallery Holiday Schedule
COURTS-WEB-PROD-02a