RULE CHANGE 2023(10)

RULES GOVERNING ADMISSION TO THE PRACTICE OF LAW IN COLORADO

Rule 227. Registration Fee

A. Registration Fee of Attorneys and Attorney Judges

- (1) General Provisions.
- (a) Fees. On or before February 28 of each year, every attorney admitted to practice in Colorado (including judges, those admitted on a provisional or temporary basis and those admitted as judge advocate) shall annually file a registration statement and pay a fee as set by the Colorado Supreme Court. As of 2014 Effective December 1, 2023, the fees set by the court are as follows: the fee for active attorneys is \$325.00\$395.00; the fee of any attorney whose first admission to practice is within the preceding three years is \$190.00; the fee for attorneys on inactive status is \$130.00\$160.00. All persons first becoming subject to this rule shall file a statement required by this rule at the time of admission, but no annual fee shall be payable until the first day of January following such admission. As necessary to defray the costs of regulating attorneys, judges and those engaged in unauthorized practice of law, the Supreme Court will authorize periodic increases to the annual fee for every Colorado attorney.
- **(b) (c)** [NO CHANGE]
- (2) Statement.
- (a) (c) [NO CHANGE]
- (3) Compliance.
- (a) Late Fee. Any attorney who pays the annual fee or files the annual registration statement after February 28 but on or before March 31 shall pay a late fee of \$50.00\$100.00 in addition to the registration fee. Any attorney who pays the annual fee or files the annual registration statement after March 31 shall pay a late fee of \$150.00\$300.00 for each such year, in addition to the registration fee.
- **(b) (c)** [NO CHANGE]
- (4) Suspension.
- (a) (c) [NO CHANGE]
- (5) Reinstatement.
- (a) Application Reinstatement Fee. Any attorney suspended under the provisions of section (4)(a) above shall not be reinstated until application for reinstatement is made in writing and the Clerk acts favorably on the application. Each application for reinstatement shall be accompanied by a reinstatement fee of \$100.00\sumeq200.00 and payment of all arrearages and late fees to the date of the request for reinstatement.
- (b) [NO CHANGE]
- (6) Inactive Status.
- (a) (c) [NO CHANGE]

- (7) Transfer to Active Status. [NO CHANGE]
- (8) Resignation.
- (a) (c) [NO CHANGE]
- **B.** Registration Fee of Non-Attorney Judges
- (1) (5) [NO CHANGE]

COMMENT [NO CHANGE]

Rule 227. Registration Fee

A. Registration Fee of Attorneys and Attorney Judges

- (1) General Provisions.
- (a) Fees. On or before February 28 of each year, every attorney admitted to practice in Colorado (including judges, those admitted on a provisional or temporary basis and those admitted as judge advocate) shall annually file a registration statement and pay a fee as set by the Colorado Supreme Court. Effective December 1, 2023, the fees set by the court are as follows: the fee for active attorneys is \$395.00; the fee of any attorney whose first admission to practice is within the preceding three years is \$190.00; the fee for attorneys on inactive status is \$160.00. All persons first becoming subject to this rule shall file a statement required by this rule at the time of admission, but no annual fee shall be payable until the first day of January following such admission. As necessary to defray the costs of regulating attorneys, judges and those engaged in unauthorized practice of law, the Supreme Court will authorize periodic increases to the annual fee for every Colorado attorney.
- **(b) (c)** [NO CHANGE]
- (2) Statement.
- (a) (c) [NO CHANGE]
- (3) Compliance.
- (a) Late Fee. Any attorney who pays the annual fee or files the annual registration statement after February 28 but on or before March 31 shall pay a late fee of \$100.00 in addition to the registration fee. Any attorney who pays the annual fee or files the annual registration statement after March 31 shall pay a late fee of \$300.00 for each such year, in addition to the registration fee.
- **(b) (c)** [NO CHANGE]
- (4) Suspension.
- (a) (c) [NO CHANGE]
- (5) Reinstatement.
- (a) Application Reinstatement Fee. Any attorney suspended under the provisions of section (4)(a) above shall not be reinstated until application for reinstatement is made in writing and the Clerk acts favorably on the application. Each application for reinstatement shall be accompanied by a reinstatement fee of \$200.00 and payment of all arrearages and late fees to the date of the request for reinstatement.
- (b) [NO CHANGE]
- (6) Inactive Status.
- (a) (c) [NO CHANGE]

- (7) Transfer to Active Status. [NO CHANGE]
- (8) Resignation.
- (a) (c) [NO CHANGE]
- **B.** Registration Fee of Non-Attorney Judges
- (1) (5) [NO CHANGE]

COMMENT [NO CHANGE]

Amended and Adopted by the Court, En Banc, May 25, 2023, effective December 1, 2023.

By the Court:

Monica M. Márquez Justice, Colorado Supreme Court