

## Case Copies or Research

To obtain copies of documents that have been filed with the court OR to obtain information about specific cases (for example has there been one filed) the following information will help guide you.

## How to Make a Request

Requests for information can either be made in person, online at <a href="Online Research Request - Colorado">Online Research Request - Colorado</a>
<a href="Judicial State Website">Judicial State Website</a> or through the US Mail. The attached form below MUST be completed if making the request in person, by mail, by fax or email. The court does not accept phone call requests. All businesses and organizations are subject to the charges below except for law enforcement agencies, military, social services agencies and in-state district attorney offices.

If you plan to mail, fax, or email in your request and you are asking for information about your own case, you must include a copy of your driver's license. If you are requesting information about another person's case certain documents and personal data may be withheld due to confidentiality policies. A notarized statement from at least one of the individuals named in the case will allow you full access to the record. Please be specific about the information or copies you wish to obtain. Please include the case number. If you do not have the case number include all the information you have about the case such as the type of case, party names, approximate year of filing, etc. Enclose a check with a statement in the note section "not to exceed \$50" or you will be contacted to pay with credit card (Visa, MasterCard, or Discover). Also include a self-addressed and stamped envelope for return of your documents. Mail your request, envelope, and payment to:

**Mesa County Combined Court** 

P.O. Box 20,000 - Dept. 5030

**Grand Junction, CO 81502-5030** 

## **Cost of Research:**

- Copies are \$ .25 per page.
- Certified copies are \$20 per document. This is **IN ADDITION** to the \$ .25 per page copy fee.

In addition to copy charges, a non-refundable fee of **\$5.00 per name** is required at the time of the request. An additional \$10.00 fee will be assessed if the file has to be retrieved from offsite storage. Depending on the complexity of your request, an hourly rate of \$30.00 may also be assessed.

There is a \$5 research request fee, in addition to copy charges, when you come to the court in person AND wish to have pulled more than 5 files or you wish to have more than five names researched on our database (it is \$5 per name).

## RECORD SEARCH FOR MESA COUNTY COMBINED COURT

125 N Spruce, Grand Junction, CO 81501 PO Box 20,000-5030, Grand Junction CO 81502 Telephone (970) 257-3640

Requests for information can either be made in person, online at Online Research Request - Colorado Judicial State

Website, or through the US Mail. The court does not accept phone call requests, faxed requests or e-mailed requests. A
non-refundable fee of \$5.00 per name is required at the time of the request. An additional \$10.00 will be charged if the
file has to be retrieved from offsite storage. Depending on the complexity of your request, an hourly rate of \$30.00 per
hour may be assessed and processing time could take up to 3 weeks.

Payment is required in advance of beginning work. Due to confidentiality policies, when you submit a request for research and/or copies for a case you are involved in, you must include a copy of a <u>valid picture ID or a notarized</u> <u>statement</u>. If at least one of these is not provided, full access to the case might not be possible and certain documents may be withheld.

***INFO	RMATION ABOU	T THE PAF	RTY(S) YOU WO	ULD LIK	E RESEARCHED***	
Names of party(s):						
(List all names used)						
Date of Birth:		Filing Date or Year:			Case Number (if known):	
Date of Death:						
Case Type:	☐ Misdemeanor ☐ Traffic ☐ Felony ☐ Probate ☐ Domestic ☐ Civil ☐ Other					
Your Request:	Do documents need to		Special Instructions:			
☐ Entire File	be certified?					
☐ Specific Documents	☐ Yes ☐ No					
•						
	***	INFORMA	TION ABOUT Y	OU***		
Name/Agency						
Requesting Information						
Mailing Address						
Daytime Contact Phone						
Number						
PAYMENT INFORMATION			DATE O	F REQUES	ST:	
Payments can be made with	cash, money orde	er, certifie	d funds			
or checks made payable to I	Mesa County Coml	bined Cou	rt.			
	T			Т _		
Search Fee	\$5.00 Per Case			╡	nts can be made with a credit	
Copy Fee	\$0.25 for all copies				you select this option, a clerk	
Certification	\$20.00 per document			l you to obtain your credit card		
Offsite File Retrieval	. ,			information.		
Extensive Research	\$30.00 per hour	r (no cnarg	ge for 1st nour)			
				☐ PAY	WITH CREDIT CARD	