Committee Charge Document



Chief Justice Charge

Continuing

Problem Solving Court Advisory Committee

COMMITTEE OVERVIEW:

The Colorado Supreme Court reappoints a Colorado Judicial Department Problem Solving Court Advisory Committee. This Committee shall be chaired by the honorable Chief Judge Boyd, and it shall be staffed by the State Court Administrator's Office. The Committee shall be reappointed and charged every two years with new projects as deemed appropriate by the Chief Justice. The Charge shall run concurrent with the calendar year. For this current order, the charge shall span the time period to begin January 1, 2023 and to end December 31, 2023. Nothing shall preclude this order and charge from being amended as the Chief Justice deems appropriate.

The committee shall meet regularly to study, develop, and recommend policies and procedures to enhance the implementation of evidence-based practices. The PSC Advisory Committee has the authority to design and implement innovative projects for Colorado Problem Solving Courts and to make recommendations to the Colorado Supreme Court.

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE:

The Problem Solving Court Advisory Committee was established by the Supreme Court on April 9, 2008 and charged with the task of developing effective procedures and strategies for implementing evidence-based practices in Colorado Problem Solving Courts. Since its inception, committee members have met on a quarterly basis under the direction of the Committee Chair.

The PSC Advisory Committee has made significant progress in working through the items assigned in the previous charge. However, the development of these programs and support to the local courts by nature is an ongoing process; therefore, the Problem Solving Court Advisory Committee is charged and assigned to:

- I. Promote the implementation and sustained use of evidence-based and best practices recognized for problem solving courts
 - Expand problem solving court standards
 - Continue the support, development, and implementation of fidelity strategies for evidence-based and best practices in all problem solving courts
 - Provide training and technical assistance for Colorado Problem Solving Courts
- II. Support the sustainability of Problem Solving Courts and, in concert with other agencies, promote developing similar models for those agencies to support the effective operation of Problem Solving Courts.
 - Develop a staffing model for Colorado problem solving courts

- Engage and expand partnerships for state and local planning to increase efficacy of services provided by problem solving courts
- Expand Advisory Committee Subcommittees
- Develop a funding model for Colorado Problem Solving Courts

III. Continue the development of an evaluation strategy for Problem Solving Courts

- Develop a statewide continuous quality improvement protocol utilizing the management information system PSC3D and COGNOS reports or other successor information systems
- Expand the capacity of the Colorado Problem Solving Court management information systems

MEMBERSHIP:

The following individuals are appointed to serve as members of the Problem Solving Court Advisory Committee for a term of two (2) years with the option of extending appointment.

	District/Agency
Leslie Schaefer, Chief Probation Officer	1
Cary Heck, Denver Chief Probation Officer	2
Abigail Young, Court Executive	2
Sheilagh McAteer, Deputy Public Defender (ret.)	4
Michael Pisciotta, Court Executive	5
Honorable Mary Deganhart, District Judge	7
Doug Hanshaw, PSC Coordinator	7
Honorable James Boyd, Chief Judge (committee chair)	9
Tobin Wright, Chief Probation Officer	16
Honorable Mark MacDonnell, Chief Judge	16
Honorable Bonnie McLean, District Judge	18
Michael Pirraglia, Chief Deputy District Attorney	19
Honorable William Hood	Colorado Supreme Court Justice
Arnold Hanuman	Colorado District Attorney's Council
Brian Montrose, Deputy State Public Defender	Office of the State Public Defender
Joel Miller, Manager of Criminal Justice SUD Services	CDHS-Office of Civil and Forensic Mental Health
Sarah Hoffstetter, Manager	Department of Probation Services
Megan Kearsley	Family Unit, Court Improvement Program
Dr. Joyce Smith	Treatment Provider
Valarie MacDonald, 9th Judicial Dist.	Rural PSC Coordinator
Jeremy Botkins, Attorney	SCAO Legal
Frank Alston, Deputy, Douglas County Sheriff's Office	Law Enforcement
Sam Maestas, Captain, Alamosa Police Department	Law Enforcement
Erik Bourgerie, POST Director	Law Enforcement

Additional people may be asked to serve as sub-committee members when deemed appropriate by this advisory committee in order to further the goals and objectives assigned in this charge.

Signature of the establishing authority:

Brian D Beater

Justice Brian Boatright Chief Justice, Colorado Supreme Court

12/21/2022

Date