Skip to main content
Home Self Help Discontinue Sex Offender Registration
Home Self Help Discontinue Sex Offender Registration
Discontinue Sex Offender Registration
These standard instructions are for informational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice about your case. If you choose to represent yourself, you are bound by the same rules and procedures as an attorney.

  • I was convicted/adjudicated for an offense involving unlawful sexual behavior in Colorado. How do I end my requirement to register as a sex offender?
    • 1. Determine whether you meet the conditions to end your requirement to register as a sex offender.
      • You can ask the court to end your requirement to register as a sex offender if you meet one of these conditions:

        1.  Unless the court has ordered otherwise after conducting a hearing, you successfully completed the terms and conditions of a deferred adjudication or deferred sentence for an offense involving unlawful sexual behavior, the case has been dismissed, and since that time you have not been convicted of or adjudicated for any offense involving unlawful sexual behavior; OR

        2.  Unless the court has ordered otherwise after conducting a hearing, you were less than 18 years old at the time you committed the offense involving unlawful sexual behavior, you have successfully completed and have been discharged from a juvenile sentence or disposition related to that offense, and since that time you have not been convicted of, or have a pending prosecution for any offense involving unlawful sexual behavior; OR

        3.  The offense that required you to register was a misdemeanor other than unlawful sexual contact or third degree sexual assault, it has been 5 years since your final release from the jurisdiction of the court, and during that time you have not been convicted of or adjudicated for any offense involving unlawful sexual behavior; OR

        4.  The offense that required you to register was a class 4, 5, or 6 felony or was a class 1 misdemeanor of unlawful sexual contact or third degree sexual assault, it has been 10 years since your final release from the jurisdiction of the court or discharge from the Department of Corrections or Department of Human Services, and during that time you have not been convicted of or adjudicated for any offense involving unlawful sexual behavior; OR

        5.  The offense that required you to register was a class 1, 2, or 3 felony, it has been 20 years since your final release from the jurisdiction of the court or discharge from the Department of Corrections or Department of Human Services, and during that time you have not been convicted of or adjudicated for any offense involving unlawful sexual behavior.

         

        You are not eligible to end your registration requirement if:

        1.  You are a sexually violent predator;
        2.  You are an adult who has more than one conviction or adjudication for unlawful sexual behavior in Colorado or anywhere else;
        3.  You were convicted as an adult of:
             a.  Sexual assault, sexual assault in the first degree, or sexual assault in the second degree;
             b.  Sexual assault on a child;
             c.  Sexual assault on a child by one in a position of trust;
             d.  Sexual assault on a client by a psychotherapist;
             e.  Incest; OR
             f.  Aggravated incest

         

        NOTE:  If you are not sure what type of offense you had, review your sentencing documents or you may want to talk to an attorney.

    • 2. Identify what you need to do before you start your case.
      • Before you file your paperwork with the court, you must first notify the following agencies by certified mail that you intend to file paperwork asking to end your  requirement to register as a sex offender:

        1.  All law enforcement agencies with which you are required to register;
        2.  The prosecuting attorney in each of the jurisdictions in which the law enforcement agencies listed above in #1 are located; AND
        3.  The prosecuting attorney who got the conviction or adjudication against you

         

        Follow these steps to give the notification described above:

        1.  Download and complete form JDF 472 Notice of Intent to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration
        2.  Send JDF 472 Notice of Intent to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration by certified mail to each agency you list on the form
        3.  Keep your certified mail return receipts.  You will need to attach them to the paperwork you file with the court.

    • 3. Identify where to file your case.
    • 4. Fill out the correct paperwork.
      • You will need these forms:
            JDF 461 Petition to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration
            JDF 462 Notice of Hearing on Petition
            JDF 463 Order to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration
            JDF 479 Certificate of Mailing - Discontinue Sex Offender Registration
            JDF 460 Checklist (use only if you were under 18 years old at the time your were found guilty or pled guilty)

        For detailed instructions on how to complete these forms, see JDF 460I Instructions to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration Colorado and Non-Colorado Conviction and JDF 476 Instructions to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration Juvenile.

        You will use the same case number on these forms as in the case in which you were convicted or adjudicated.

        You must sign JDF 461 Petition to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration in front of a Notary Public or a court clerk.  You can find a Notary Public in the Yellow Pages, on the internet or by going to your local bank.

        REMEMBER:  Make sure to attach your completed JDF 472 Notice of Intent to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration and the certified mail return receipts (showing that you sent JDF 472 by certified mail to the appropriate agencies in Step #2) to JDF 461 before you file it with the court.

        Fill out only the top caption part of JDF 463 Order to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration - Colorado Conviction and JDF 462 Notice of Hearing on Petition - Colorado Conviction.  The court will fill out the rest.

        * Take your completed forms to the court and give them to the clerk to file your case.  No filing fee is required.

         

    • 5. Serve the paperwork.
      • After you file your paperwork with the court, the court will send JDF 462 Notice of Hearing on Petition back to you with the date, time and location of the hearing filled in.

        You will need to send JDF 462 Notice of Hearing on Petition along with JDF 461 Petition to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration by certified mail to the prosecuting attorney who got the conviction or adjudication against you and the prosecuting attorney for the jurisdiction where registration is required.

        After you send JDF 461 and JDF 462 by certified mail, fill out JDF 479 Certificate of Mailing, attach the certified mail return receipts, and file it with the court on or before the date of the hearing.

    • 6. Go to your hearing.
      • At the hearing, the judge will decide whether to end your requirement to register as a sex offender.

        If the judge decides that you no longer need to register as a sex offender, they will sign JDF 463 Order to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration - Colorado Conviction.

        You will need to provide a copy of the signed order (JDF 463) to each law enforcement agency listed in your Petition and to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation at 690 Kipling Street, Denver, CO 80215.  You can reach the CBI by phone at 303-239-4300.

         

  • I was convicted/adjudicated for an offense involving unlawful sexual behavior in another state. How do I end my requirement to register as a sex offender in Colorado?
    • 1. Determine whether you meet the conditions to end your requirement to register as a sex offender.
      • You can ask the court to end your requirement to register as a sex offender if you meet one of these conditions:

        1. You successfully completed the terms and conditions of a deferred adjudication or deferred sentence for an offense involving unlawful sexual behavior, the case has been dismissed, and since that time you have not been convicted of or adjudicated for any offense involving unlawful sexual behavior; OR

        2. You were less than 18 years old at the time you committed the offense involving unlawful sexual behavior, you have successfully completed and have been discharged from a juvenile sentence or disposition related to that offense, and since that time you have not been convicted of, or have a pending prosecution for any offense involving unlawful sexual behavior; OR

        3. The offense that required you to register was a misdemeanor other than unlawful sexual contact or third degree sexual assault, it has been 5 years since your final release from the jurisdiction of the court, and during that time you have not been convicted of or adjudicated for any offense involving unlawful sexual behavior; OR

        4. The offense that required you to register was a class 4, 5, or 6 felony or was a class 1 misdemeanor of unlawful sexual contact or third degree sexual assault, it has been 10 years since your final release from the jurisdiction of the court or discharge from the Department of Corrections or Department of Human Services, and during that time you have not been convicted of or adjudicated for any offense involving unlawful sexual behavior; OR

        5. The offense that required you to register was a class 1, 2, or 3 felony, it has been 20 years since your final release from the jurisdiction of the court or discharge from the Department of Corrections or Department of Human Services, and during that time you have not been convicted of or adjudicated for any offense involving unlawful sexual behavior.

         

        You are not eligible to end your registration requirement if:

        1. You are a sexually violent predator;
        2. You are an adult who has more than one conviction or adjudication for unlawful sexual behavior in Colorado or anywhere else;
        3. You were convicted as an adult of:
            a. Sexual assault, sexual assault in the first degree, or sexual assault in the second degree;
            b. Sexual assault on a child;
            c. Sexual assault on a child by one in a position of trust;
            d. Sexual assault on a client by a psychotherapist;
            e. Incest; OR
            f. Aggravated incest

         

        NOTE: If you are not sure what type of offense you had, review your sentencing documents or you may want to talk to an attorney.

    • 2. Identify what you need to do before you start your case.
      • Before you file your paperwork with the court, you must first notify the following agencies by certified mail that you intend to file paperwork asking to end your requirement to register as a sex offender:

        1. All law enforcement agencies with which you are required to register;
        2. The prosecuting attorney in each of the jurisdictions in which the law enforcement agencies listed above in #1 are located; AND
        3. The prosecuting attorney who got the conviction or adjudication against you

         

         Follow these steps to give the notification described above:

        1. Download and complete form JDF 472 Notice of Intent to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration
        2. Send JDF 472 Notice of Intent to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration by certified mail to each agency you list on the form
        3. Keep your certified mail return receipts. You will need to attach then to the paperwork you file with the court.

    • 3. Identify where to file your case.
    • 4. Fill out the correct paperwork.
      • You will need these forms:
         JDF 473 Petition to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration
         JDF 474 Notice of Hearing on Petition
         JDF 475 Order to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration
         JDF 479 Certificate of Mailing - Discontinue Sex Offender Registration
         JDF 460 Checklist (use only if you were under 18 years old at the time your were found guilty or pled guilty).

        For detailed instructions on how to complete these forms, see JDF 460I Instructions to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration Colorado and Non-Colorado Conviction and JDF 476 Instructions to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration Juvenile.

        You will use the same case number on these forms as in the case in which you were convicted or adjudicated.

        You must sign JDF 473 Petition to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration in front of a Notary Public or a court clerk. You can find a Notary Public in the Yellow Pages, on the internet or by going to your local bank.

        REMEMBER: Make sure to attach your completed JDF 472 Notice of Intent to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration and the certified mail return receipts (showing that you sent JDF 472 by certified mail to the appropriate agencies from Step #2) to JDF 473 before you file it with the court.

        Fill out only the top caption part of JDF 475 Order to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration - Colorado Conviction and JDF 474 Notice of Hearing on Petition - Colorado Conviction. The court will fill out the rest.

        Take your completed forms to the court and give them to the clerk to file your case.  No filing fee is required.

    • 5. Serve the paperwork.
      • After you file your paperwork with the court, the court will send JDF 474 Notice of Hearing on Petition back to you with the date, time and location of the hearing filled in.

        You will need to send JDF 474 Notice of Hearing on Petition along with JDF 473 Petition to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration by certified mail to the prosecuting attorney who got the conviction or adjudication against you and the prosecuting attorney for the jurisdiction where registration is required.

        After you send JDF 473 and JDF 474 by certified mail, fill out JDF 479 Certificate of Mailing, attach the certified mail return receipts, and file it with the court on or before the date of the hearing.

    • 6. Go to your hearing.
      • At the hearing, the judge will decide whether to end your requirement to register as a sex offender.

        If the judge decides that you no longer need to register as a sex-offender, they will sign JDF 475 Order to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration - Non Colorado Conviction.

        You will need to provide a copy of the signed Order (JDF 475) to each law enforcement agency listed in your Petition and to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation at 690 Kipling Street, Denver, CO 80215. You can reach the CBI by phone at 303-239-4300.

important announcement contact us   •   interpreters   •   faq   •   photos   •   holidays Menu Important Announcement Home Search Courts Probation Jury Self Help ⁄ Forms Careers Media Administration Contact us Interpreters FAQ Photo Gallery Holiday Schedule
COURTS-WEB-PROD-01a