Skip to main content
Home Media Press Releases Release
Home Media Press Releases Release
15th Judicial District Announces Kiowa County Court Vacancy

Tuesday, June 4, 2024
15th Judicial District Announces Kiowa County Court Vacancy 
Commission sets date to select nominees 
The Fifteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet on July 22, 2024, at the Kiowa County Combined Court (1305 Goff St., Eads, CO 81036) to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the office of county judge for Kiowa County. The vacancy will be created by the retirement of the Honorable Gary W. Davis. The vacancy will occur on September 1, 2024.  
To be eligible, the applicant must be a qualified elector of Kiowa County at the time of investiture and have graduated high school or attained the equivalent of a high school education as indicated by the Department of Education, based upon the record made on the General Education Development test. The annual salary for this position is $36,940.80, and it is a part-time, 20% percent position. The initial term of office of a county judge is a provisional term of two years; thereafter, the incumbent county judge, if approved by the voters, has a term of four years.  
Application forms are available from the office of the ex officio chair of the nominating commission, Justice Melissa Hart, 2 E. 14th Ave., Denver, CO 80203, and the office of the court executive, Diane Crow, 301 S. Main, Lamar, CO 81052. Applications also are available on the court’s home page at  
The completed application must be e-mailed to the address listed in the instructions below no later than 4:00 p.m. on July 5, 2024. Late applications will not be considered. Any person wishing to suggest a candidate to fill the vacancy may do so by letter to be submitted to any member of the nominating commission, with a copy to the ex officio chair, no later than 4:00 p.m. on June 28, 2024. Under the rules of the 15th Judicial District Judicial Nominating Commission, names of the applicants shall be made public once the application period is closed.  
The members of the nominating commission for the 15th Judicial District are Douglas Tallman of Kiowa; Timothy Hume of Baca; Margaret Jolly of Cheyenne; and Annessa Stulp, Darla Specht, Kim Verhoeff and Lanie Meyers-Mireles, all of Prowers.  
Editor’s Note:  Contact information for the nominating commission members,  
The Colorado Judicial Branch works to provide equal access to justice, contribute to public safety, and strengthen the rule of law across Colorado. Together, our courts and probation departments are committed to impartial and timely dispute resolution, support for families, litigants, and victims, client rehabilitation, and meaningful community engagement. 
important announcement Transparency Online   •   Contact Us   •   Interpreters   •   FAQ   •   Photos   •   Holidays Menu Important Announcement Home Search Courts Probation Jury Self Help ⁄ Forms Careers Media Administration Contact us Interpreters FAQ Photo Gallery Holiday Schedule