Skip to main content
Home Media Press Releases Release
Home Media Press Releases Release
Colorado Supreme Court approves creation of legal paraprofessional license

Monday, March 27, 2023

DENVER – The Colorado Supreme Court has approved the licensure of legal paraprofessionals in a new rule that is designed to make legal representation more widely available and more affordable to people in certain domestic-relations matters.

With approval of the new Rule 207 of the Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure, the state becomes one of five that will issue some form of limited license for non-lawyers to practice law. As of September 2022, the other four states are Arizona, Minnesota, Oregon, and Utah; Washington and California both developed limited-license programs, but neither is actively licensing non-lawyers, according to the American Bar Association.

Under the rule, licensed legal paraprofessionals (LLPs) may complete and file standard pleadings, and represent their clients in mediation. They also may accompany their clients to court and answer a court’s factual questions, though they may not present oral argument or examine witnesses in a hearing.

In Fiscal Year 2022, 74 percent of parties involved in Colorado domestic-relations cases such as marriage dissolution and allocation of parental responsibility represented themselves.

“Making it easier for people to secure legal representation in these often difficult matters has been a long-term goal of our commitment to ensuring access to justice for all Coloradans,” said Colorado Supreme Court Chief Justice Brian D. Boatright. “Allowing non-lawyers to provide limited legal representation for people who otherwise couldn’t afford it will not only help those litigants, but it will help the courts efficiently and effectively handle their cases.”

LLPs will have to pass a written examination to be administered by the Office of Attorney Regulation Counsel and will be subject to character and fitness standards similar to those required of licensed attorneys.

By the time an applicant takes the LLP examination, the applicant must meet certain educational requirements and have completed 1,500 hours of substantive law-related practical experience, including 500 hours of experience in Colorado family law, within the three years immediately preceding the date of the examination. The Court approved an exception to the educational requirements for individuals who have worked for three years in family law.

Applicants also will have to pass an ethics class, pass a professional conduct exam, and complete continuing legal education requirements, and they will be subject to a complaint and discipline process similar to that of licensed attorneys.

The Colorado Supreme Court in 2021 charged the Advisory Committee on the Practice of Law with developing a plan to license legal paraprofessionals. A subcommittee made up of current and former judges, family law lawyers, an experienced family law paralegal/mediator, a family court facilitator, the Attorney Regulation Counsel, and the Chair of the Advisory Committee developed the rule, which was subject to public comment before the Supreme Court approved the final version. The first LLPs could receive their licenses in July 2024.

Rule 207 is available for viewing at

important announcement Transparency Online   •   Contact Us   •   Interpreters   •   FAQ   •   Photos   •   Holidays Menu Important Announcement Home Search Courts Probation Jury Self Help ⁄ Forms Careers Media Administration Contact us Interpreters FAQ Photo Gallery Holiday Schedule