# How to File for Parental Responsibility

(Instructions to File for an Allocation for Parental Responsibilities, Decision-Making, and Parenting Time)

## For unmarried parents

### What does this case do?

With your input, the court will:

- Create a parenting time schedule.
- Lay out how important life decisions will be made for the children.
- Set the amount for child support.

To file, the children must have lived in Colorado for the last 182 days.

#### Who can start the case?

Either parent can start the case.

#### Can a non-parent participate?

	MONTH				
	-	1		+	
+	+		H	+	

**Yes**, if you've had parental responsibility for at least 182 days.

And, the case is started within 182 days since you lost the parental responsibility.

Or, at this time, neither parent has physical care of the child/ren.

#### Where do I File?

File in the district court in the county where the children live.

### Can we get help to solve our disagreements?

The State Office of Dispute Resolution helps parents try to agree about unresolved issues. <u>www.Coloradoodr.org</u>

## What if the other parent is not the "legal" father?

You will need to resolve who the legal father is before starting this type of case.

See JDF 1500 - Paternity Instructions.

## Will an investigator or lawyer be assigned?

Maybe. The court can assign an investigator to get more information about the family.

Or, the court can appoint a lawyer for the child if it believes they need one.

The parents do not get a court appointed lawyer.

#### Do I have to have a lawyer?



You do not *have to* have a lawyer, but you must follow the same rules and procedures that lawyers follow. You may contact a lawyer at any time.

## Will I have to take a parenting class?

Yes. Both parents have to take a parenting class. The court will give you more information on class times and locations.

The information on this page is legal information. For legal advice, talk to a lawyer.



If you need a reasonable disability accommodation to access the courts, contact your local ADA Coordinator at: <u>www.courts.state.co.us/ada/coordinator</u>

# Forms to file

## (1) Fill out court forms.



Note - If you and the other parent sign the petition together, the process is simpler.

Fill out these forms:

- JDF 1000 Case Information Sheet
- JDF 1413 Petition for Parental Responsibility
- JDF 1414 Summons (not needed if signing together)

#### Where do I get court forms?

#### Go to: <a href="http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/family">http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/family</a>

Download the PDF or fill in and print the WORD doc. Keep a copy of all forms you file with the court for your records.

## ② File with the Court Clerk.

 The filing fee is \$222. If you cannot pay this fee, fill out the fee waiver application (JDF 205 and caption box for JDF 206).



- You will be scheduled for an Initial Status Conference within 42 days of your filing.
- Domestic Orders will be given to you or mailed depending on the local court process.

# **3** Complete and File these forms:

## Deadline Warning!

Within **42 days** after filing or receiving the Petition, each parent must file:

- JDF 1111 Sworn Financial Statement
- JDF 1104 *Certificate of Compliance*
- JDF 1113 Parenting Plan

Parents submit one document signed together. If you cannot agree, mediation may be ordered.

Child Support Worksheet

(Click <u>here</u> for link to Family Law Software)

www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/Family/Support https://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/Forms\_List.cf m?Form\_Type\_ID=94

- JDF 1117 Support Order
- JDF 1422 Order for Parental Responsibilities

This is your final order. Once the court signs it, the case is finished.

If you need a certified copy of the signed order, an added fee is to be paid by you.

## **(4)** Court Hearing



There will be a court hearing. If agreements are not reached, mediation may be ordered before a hearing is scheduled.