### JDF 1770



#### How to Guide to

# **Confirmation Adoptions**

### 1. Basic Information

- This process confirms who the parents are when using assisted reproduction.
- Both parents must complete and file the Petition together.
- The parents may file with the District/Juvenile Court in:
  - o The county where the child was born or conceived.
  - o The county where either parent lives.
  - o Any county, if the child was born or conceived in Colorado.
- If the child was born in a Colorado hospital, the parents may have filled out a <a href="form">form</a> to obtain an Acknowledgement of Parentage. If so, you may attach the Acknowledgment to the Petition.
- The law that directs this process is C.R.S. § 19-5-203.5.

#### Also in this Guide:

2.	Step-by-Step Guide	Pg. 2
3.	Common Terms	Pg. 3
4.	Filing Fees	Pg. 3
5.	<u>List of Forms</u>	Pg. 3
6.	ADA Information	Pg. 3
7.	Legal Advisory	Pg. 3

# 2. Step-by-Step Guide

Terms defined on page 3.

Step 1 – Start the Case

Both Petitioners

- 1) Complete the starting paperwork:
  - <u>IDF 1771</u> Petition for Confirmation Adoption.

**Attach:** The child's birth certificate.

**Attach:** Your marriage/civil union certificate (if during the child's birth or conception).

<u>JDF 1772</u> – Confirmation Adoption Decree.

**Note:** Just do the case caption.

- 2) File with the District/Juvenile Court. Web Tool: Court Finder
- 3) Pay the filing fee. See <u>Fees on page 3</u> for details.

## Step 2: Hearing (rare)

All Parties

The court may hold a hearing. If so:

- 1) The Court will provide notice of the hearing date and time.
- 2) Be sure to arrive early to find the room and get through security.
- 3) The Court will review the paperwork, ask questions, and make a final decision on the case.

## Step 3: Decree

The Court

The court will issue the decree within 30 days of starting the case.

# 3. Common Terms

Case Caption The boxes at the top of the form. It contains

the court's address, parties' names, the filer's contact information, and the case number.

Petitioners The people filing the Petition; both adoptive

parents.

#### 4. Fees

Filing Fee\* \$167

Certified Copy \$20

\* To Request a Fee Waiver:

<u>IDF 205</u> – Motion to Waive Fees.

<u>JDF 206</u> – Order. (Just do the case caption.)

## 5. All Forms (In numerical order)

www.courts.state.co.us/Forms

<u>IDF 1771</u> – Petition for Confirmation Adoption.

<u>IDF 1772</u> – Confirmation Adoption Decree.

### 6. ADA Information

For reasonable accommodations under the Americans with Disabilities act contact the court's ADA coordinator:

www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/HR/ADA/Coordinator List.cfm

# 7. Legal Advisory

These are basic instructions for informational purposes only. They do not constitute legal advice. If you choose to represent yourself, you are bound by the same rules and process as a lawyer. If you do not understand this information, please contact a lawyer.