JDF 1080



How to

Register a Support Order

1. Basic Information

- This process lets you register a support order or income withholding you received in another state or country with Colorado.
- This guide may not apply to your case. Read <u>JDF 1215</u> or <u>JDF 1240</u> to register a custody order. Read <u>JDF 1220</u> to register a divorce decree.
- Once registered, you can enforce (or potentially change) the support order in Colorado.
- Requested changes to the Order should be made in the state that issued that order. If neither party lives there anymore, requested changes are normally filed where the party **not** requesting the changes lives. Or, both parties can agree in writing that the requested changes be considered by another state.
- The law that controls this process is C.R.S. §§ 14-5-602, 609, and 616.

Also in this Guide:

2.	Step-by-Step Guide	Pg. 2
3.	Common Terms	Pg. 3
4.	Filing Fees	Pg. 4
5.	<u>List of Forms</u>	Pg. 4
6.	ADA Information	Pg. 4
7.	Legal Advisory	Pg. 4

2.	Step-by-Step Guide			Terms defined on page 3.
	Step 1:	Prep	oare	Petitioner
		1)	Certified Copies	
			Get a certified copy of every support of modifying that order) from the court(s	•
	Step 2:	Star	t the Case	Petitioner
		1)	Complete the starting paperwork:	
			☐ <u>JDF 1000</u> – Case Information Sheet.	
			<u>JDF 1081</u> – Petition.	
			Note: Attach the certified copies fr	om Step 1.
			JDF 1082 – Notice of Registration. (Ju	ust do the case caption.)
		2)	File with the District Court.	Web Tool: Court Finder
		3)	Pay the filing fee.	Fees on page 4.
	Step 3:	3: Notification		Petitioner
		1)	The Court will mail the starting paperwork t	to the Respondent.
	Step 4:	Res	ponse	Respondent
		1)	Complete the paperwork:	
		2)	File the paperwork with the Court.	
			Note: The Court's address is on the Noti	ice of Registration.
		3)	Pay the filing fee.	Fees on page 4.
		4)	Mail a copy to the Petitioner.	

Step 5: Hearing (sometimes)

All Parties

If the Respondent objects, the court may hold a hearing. If so:

- 1) The Court will provide notice of the hearing date and time.
- 2) Be sure to arrive early to find the room and get through security.
- 3) Be prepared to present your case.
- 4) The Court will review the paperwork, ask any questions it has, and make a final decision about the request.

Step 6: Change or Enforce Orders (as needed)

If the court grants the Petition, you may now enforce or potentially change (modify) the registered order.

- 1) For enforcement, read <u>JDF 1800</u> How to Enforce Orders.
- 2) To request changes, read <u>IDF 1403 i</u> How to Modify Orders.

3. Common Terms

Case Caption	The boxes at the top of a form. It contains
	the court's address, parties' names, the filer's
	contact information, and the case number.
Certified Copy	A copy of a court document that has been
	verified by the issuing court to be a true copy.
Petitioner	The person who files to register the support
	order in Colorado.
Co-Petitioner	The person who agrees to register the support
	order in Colorado and signs the Petition.
Respondent	The person who will respond to the Petition
	to register the support order in Colorado.

4. Fees

Petition to Register \$166 Response/Objection \$116 Motion to Modify Orders \$105 Certified Copy \$20

To Request a Fee Waiver:

JDF 205 - Motion to Waive Fees.JDF 206 - Order. (Just do the case caption.)

5. All Forms (In numerical order)

www.courts.state.co.us/Forms

<u>IDF 1000</u> – Case Information Sheet.

JDF 1081 – Petition.

<u>JDF 1082</u> – Notice of Registration.

<u>JDF 1083</u> – Objection to Registration.

6. ADA Information

For reasonable accommodations under the Americans with Disabilities act contact the court's ADA coordinator:

www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/HR/ADA/Coordinator List.cfm

7. Legal Advisory

These are basic instructions for informational purposes only. They do not constitute legal advice. If you choose to represent yourself, you are bound by the same rules and process as a lawyer. If you do not understand this information, please contact a lawyer.