## INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPOINTMENT OF A CONSERVATOR - ADULT

These standard instructions are for informational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice about your case. If you choose to represent yourself, you are bound by the same rules and procedures as you would be if you were an attorney.

#### GENERAL INFORMATION

- ◆ The Respondent must be a resident in the county in which you are filing the petition, or, if the Respondent does not reside in this state, must own property in the county in which you are filing the petition. (§ 15-14-108,C.R.S.)
- ◆ The person to be protected or a person interested in the welfare of the person to be protected may file the case.
- ♦ A name-based criminal history record check from the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) and a current credit report of the proposed conservator must be filed with the Court along with JDF 805 Acceptance of Office.
- ♦ A Colorado Adult Protective Services (CAPS) CAPS Check Written Authorization form **must** be completed and signed by the proposed conservator (the nominee) and **filed with the Court**. That form can be found on the Colorado Department of Humans Services website or by clicking this link: CAPS Check Written Authorization Form

**NOTE**: Do **NOT** attempt to register an account with CAPS or Request a CAPS Check yourself. Simply download the Written Authorization Form, **complete it and file it with the court**. The court is responsible for processing the CAPS Check with the Colorado Adult Protective Services (CAPS). If you have questions, please contact the court directly.

- ◆ The Court may appoint a conservator for an adult with or without restrictions if it is determined that the Respondent is unable to manage his/her property due to some type of incapacity. The Petitioner must also show the Respondent has assets which will be wasted without proper management.
- ◆ For additional information, please review § 15-14-401 through § 15-14-433, C.R.S.
- ♦ If you have a disability and need a reasonable accommodation to access the courts, please contact your local ADA Coordinator. Contact information can be obtained from the following website:

http://www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/HR/ADA/Coordinator List.cfm

#### **COMMON TERMS**

🖾 Conservator: A person at least 21, resident or non-resident, who has been appointed to

manage the financial affairs of another person.

☑ Interested Persons: Persons identified by Colorado Law who must be given notice of a court

proceeding. See Step 3 for a complete list.

☑ Letters: Official document identifying the authority of the Conservator.
 ☑ Conservator Nominee: A person named in the petition to serve as the Conservator.
 ☑ Respondent: A person for whom the appointment of a Conservator is required.
 ☑ Ward: The title of the Respondent once the Court appoints a Conservator.

rights and make recommendations to the Court.

Official document identifying the authority of the Conservator and his/her

responsibilities during the Conservatorship.

## If you do not understand this information, please contact an attorney.

## **FEES**

A filing fee of \$199.00 is required. If you are unable to pay, you must complete the Motion to File without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit (JDF 205) and submit it to the Court. Once you submit the completed JDF 205 form and a blank Order (JDF 206), the Court will decide whether you need to pay the filing fee.

Certification of Orders and Letters	\$20.00
Service Fees	Varies
Copy of Documents	\$ .75 per page
	r and may appoint a Guardian ad Litem (GAL) to investigate and e of determining if the Conservatorship is in the best interest of the
,	for the Respondent to serve as an advocate for the Respondent.
The Petitioner or the Respondent may Respondent's Counsel.	be required to pay the hourly fee of the Court Visitor, GAL or

#### **FORMS**

To access a form online go to www.courts.state.co.us and click on the "Forms" tab. The packet/forms are available in PDF or WORD by selecting Guardian & Conservator- New Case - Conservatorship - Adult. You may complete a form online and print it or you may print it and type or print legibly in black ink.

Read these instructions carefully to determine what forms you may need, as you may need all or some of the listed forms. Check with the Court where you plan to file your case to determine if they have any special requirements.

JDF 705	Probate Case Information Sheet
JDF 714	Affidavit Regarding Due Diligence and Proof of Publication
JDF 716	Notice of Hearing by Publication
JDF 719	Waiver of Notice
JDF 721	Irrevocable Power of Attorney
JDF 800	Acknowledgment of Responsibilities
JDF 805	Acceptance of Office
JDF 806	Notice of Hearing to Interested Persons
JDF 807	Notice of Hearing to Respondent (Adult or Minor)
JDF 812	Notice of Appointment of Guardian and/or Conservator
JDF 876	Petition for Appointment of Conservator
JDF 880	Letters of Conservatorship - Adult
JDF 882	Conservator's Inventory with Financial Plan and Motion for Approval
JDF 883	Order Regarding Conservator's Financial Plan
JDF 885	Conservator's Report

♦ A Colorado Adult Protective Services (CAPS) – CAPS Check Written Authorization form **must** be completed and signed by the proposed conservator (the nominee) and **filed with the Court**. That form can be found on the Colorado Department of Humans Services website or by clicking this link:

CAPS Check Written Authorization Form

**NOTE**: Do **NOT** attempt to register an account with CAPS or Request a CAPS Check yourself. Simply download the Written Authorization Form, **complete it and file it with the court**. The court is responsible for processing the CAPS Check with the Colorado Adult Protective Services (CAPS). If you have questions, please contact the court directly.

You will also need conservatorship yo	d to file one of the following proposed on are requesting.	orders depending on what type of
□ JDF 877	Order Appointing Special Conservator – A	dult or Minor
☐ JDF 878		duit of Million
☐ JDF 8/8	Order Appointing Conservator for Adult	
STEPS TO FIL	ING YOUR CASE	
	ructions indicates that you plan to file a Conse	ervatorship for an Adult. The caption below must by of all the forms you file with the Court for
□ District Court □ Der	ver Probate Court County, Colorado	
Court Address:		
In the Interest of:		▲ COURT USE ONLY ▲
Respondent		
Attorney or Party With	out Attorney (Name and Address):	Case Number:
Phone Number: FAX Number:	Email: Atty. Reg. #:	
	NAME OF FORM	Division: Courtroom:
	NAME OF FORM	
☐ The Petition	pointment of Conservator (JDF 876) er must complete all applicable sections on the er must sign this form.	e form.
☐ Acceptance of ☐ Complete al	Office (JDF 805). I applicable sections on the form.	

◆ Equifax, Inc., P.O. Box 740241, Atlanta, GA 30374, 1-800-685-1111, or at www.equifax.com

☐ Obtain and attach a current credit report of the proposed conservator. Below are a few credit reporting

80215, (303) 239-4300, or at www.cbi.state.co.us and click on CBI Records Check.

Attach a legible copy of the proposed conservator's driver's license, passport or other government-issued identification. Redact (strike-out) the driver's license number or other identification number.
 Obtain and attach a name-based criminal history record check from Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI). To obtain a name-based criminal history check, contact CBI at 690 Kipling Street Denver, CO

agencies:

	<b>★</b> Experian, P.O. Box 2002, Alien, TX 75013, 1-888-397-3742, or at <u>www.experian.com</u>
	◆ TransUnion, P.O. Box 2000, Chester, PA 19022, 1-800-916-8800, or at <u>www.transunion.com</u>
	Redact (strike-out) all social security numbers identified on the criminal history and the credit report as well as all financial account numbers.
	lacktriangledown The costs for all criminal history checks and credit reports must be paid by the proposed conservator.
	The proposed conservator must sign the Acceptance of Office.
	iver of Notice (JDF 719).  This form can be completed and signed by any interested person (except the Respondent) who wishes to waive notice of any hearings or matters before the Court.
	This form cannot be completed by the Respondent. See Notice requirements in <b>Step 4</b> .
	evocable Power of Attorney (JDF 721).
Ц	This form is required <b>only</b> if the proposed conservator lives out-of-state.
	The proposed out-of-state conservator must complete this form and have it signed before a Court Clerk of Notary Public.
CA	PS Written Authorization Form
	A Colorado Adult Protective Services (CAPS) – CAPS Check Written Authorization form <b>must</b> be completed and signed by the proposed conservator (the nominee) and <b>filed with the Court</b> . That form can be found on the Colorado Department of Humans Services website or by clicking this link: <a href="CAPS">CAPS</a> Check Written Authorization Form
	<b>NOTE</b> : Do <b>NOT</b> attempt to register an account with CAPS or Request a CAPS Check yourself. Simply download the Written Authorization Form, <b>complete it and file it with the court</b> . The court is responsible for processing the CAPS Check with the Colorado Adult Protective Services (CAPS). If you have questions, please contact the court directly.
	tters of Conservatorship - Adult (JDF 880).  Complete only the caption on the form.  The Court will complete the remainder of the form and sign it the form following the appointment of the Conservator.
	Select the appropriate Order based on the type of conservatorship you are requesting. The proposed order should match your selection from number 1 on the Petition – JDF 876.  Complete only the caption on the form.

# Step 2: You are ready to file your Papers with the Court.

Provide the Court with the documents completed as described in Step 1 above and pay the filing fee. You will need to make copies of the documents for each of the following persons: Check the list below to determine the "interested persons" applicable to your circumstances.

- 1. The Respondent's spouse, if married.
- 2. The Respondent's partner in a civil union, if the civil union has not been dissolved.
- **3.** The Respondent's parents, if living.
- 4. The Respondent's adult children, if any.
- 5. Any current Guardian or Conservator for the Respondent whether appointed in this state or elsewhere.
- **6.** Any person who has care and custody of the Respondent, including the Respondent's treating physician.
- 7. Any adult with whom the Respondent has resided for more than six months within one year before the filing of the Petition. (§ 15-14-304(2)(b)(I)(A), C.R.S.)
- 8. Any adult relative nearest of kin, if there is no spouse, partner in a civil union, parent, or adult children.

- **9.** Any legal representative of the Respondent
- **10.** Any person the Respondent nominated to be Conservator.

You may receive a hearing date from the clerk at the time of filing your paperwork or you may need to contact the clerk later to obtain the hearing date. The date and time of this hearing is important because you will need it to complete the Notice of Hearing or publication forms described in **Step 3 and Step 4.** 

The Court shall appoint a Court Visitor who shall interview the Respondent in person, per § 15-14-406(3)(4)(5), C.R.S. The duties and reporting requirements of the Court Visitor are limited to the relief requested in the petition.

## Step 3: Notice to Interested Persons. (By Mail or Publication)

All persons listed in Step 2 must be given notice of the upcoming hearing

Se	rvice by Mail.
	If you know the address of the person to whom you are giving notice, complete the Notice of Hearing to Interested Persons (JDF 806).
	Mail copies of <b>all</b> documents filed with the Court, including the Petition for Conservatorship <b>and</b> the completed Notice of Hearing to Interested Persons (JDF 806), at least 14 days before the hearing.
	Complete the Certificate of Service portion on the form, listing the names and addresses of all persons to whom you sent the notice and the date you sent it and file the form with the Court at or before your hearing.
	If the address of any interested person is unknown, you must publish the notice of hearing in the newspaper. See Service by Publication instructions below.
<b>If y</b> car Bet	rvice by Publication. You do not have a current address for an interested person, or if their identity is not known and anot be ascertained with reasonable diligence, you must publish the notice of hearing in the newspaper. For doing this, you may wish to search the Internet, contact prior employers, friends, etc. to locate a rent address.
	<ul> <li>Notice of Hearing by Publication (JDF 716).</li> <li>□ Complete this form and have it published in a newspaper of general circulation in the county where the hearing is to be held.</li> </ul>
	☐ The notice must be published once a week for three consecutive weeks, with the last date of publication being at least 14 days before the hearing date.
	The Petitioner must request a publisher's affidavit from the newspaper after publication is completed. This publisher's affidavit, prepared by the newspaper, will serve as proof that the Notice of Hearing by Publication (JDF 716) was published. This publisher's affidavit must be attached to the Affidavit Regarding Due Diligence and Proof of Publication (JDF 714). See form identified below.
	Affidavit Regarding Due Diligence and Proof of Publication (JDF 714).
	☐ Complete all sections on this form. The purpose of this form is to describe to the Court your efforts to locate the individuals listed in the Notice of Hearing by Publication (JDF 716).
	☐ The Petitioner must sign this form.
ıst p	Notice of Hearing to Respondent with Personal Service Affidavit.  Dersonally serve the Respondent at least 14 days prior to the hearing. Helpful Hints to complete ervice:
	ect the Sheriff's Department, a private process server, or someone you know who that is 18 years or er,who is not involved in the case, and who knows the rules of service.
	quest the sheriff, private process server, or other person serving the documents to deliver personally to Respondent the Notice of Hearing (JDF 807) and copies of all documents filed with the Court.

	Request that the sheriff, private process server, or other person serving the documents complete the Personal Service Affidavit.
	The Petitioner should then file with the Court, the Notice of Hearing to Respondent (Adult or Minor) (JDF 807) with the completed Personal Service Affidavit.
Step	5: Hearing
	The Petitioner and Respondent must appear at the hearing, unless excused by the Court for good cause.
	If the Respondent cannot attend the hearing for medical or other reasons, the Petitioner must file a Motion to Excuse the Respondent and attach appropriate documentation to support the motion, such as a physician's letter.
	The Respondent may participate in the hearing and present evidence regarding his or her need for protection.
	The Petitioner should be prepared to present evidence showing why the conservatorship is necessary and that the interested persons are aware of the proceeding.
	If the Court appoints a conservator, the Court will issue Letters (JDF 880) as a formal notice of the appointment and provide you with a copy of the Order Appointing Conservator.
	☐ You may need certified copies of the Letters and Order. The number needed will vary, depending on your circumstances.
	☐ Copies of the Order must be provided to all interested persons identified in the Order.
Refer t Motion for App	<b>6: Requirements After the Court Appoints a Conservator.</b> To the Order Appointing Conservator to determine when the Conservator's Inventory with Financial Plan and for Approval and Conservator's Report are due. The Conservator's Inventory with Financial plan and Motion proval is normally required within 60 days following the appointment. The Conservator is required to maintain thing documentation for all receipts and all disbursements during the duration of the appointment.
These	completed forms must be provided to the persons listed in the Order of Appointment.
	Complete, sign, and file the Acknowledgment of Responsibilities (JDF 800) with the court. Letters of Appointment will not be issued until this form is filed.
	Complete, sign, and file the Probate Case Information Sheet (JDF 705) with the court, if you've not already done so. Letters of Appointment will not be issued until this form is filed.
	Complete the Conservator's Inventory with Financial Plan and Motion for Approval (JDF 882).
	☐ Complete only the caption on the Order Regarding Conservator's Financial Plan (JDF 883).
	☐ The Court will complete the remainder of the form following review of JDF 882.
	Refer to the Order Appointing Conservator for Adult to determine when the Conservator is required to submit the annual Conservator's Report (JDF 885). The purpose of the Conservator's Report is to give details to the Court and interested persons regarding management of the Ward's financial affairs.
	Refer to the Order Appointing Conservator for Adult regarding completing the Notice of Appointment of Guardian and/or Conservator (JDF 812). The purpose of this form is to notify the Protected Person and persons given notice of the Petition that they have the right to request termination or modification of the Conservatorship.

Note: A Conservator's Manual is available to assist the newly appointed Conservator. This manual identifies general responsibilities and important Conservatorship issues.

The responsibilities of the conservator continue until the Court terminates the conservatorship. The Court may terminate the conservatorship if the Ward no longer meets the standard for establishing the Conservatorship. Resignation of a conservator does not terminate the conservatorship until approved by the Court.

R: 2/2022