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INSTRUCTIONS FOR FORCIBLE ENTRY AND DETAINER (FED)/EVICTION 
 

 

These standard instructions are for informational purposes only and do not constitute legal 
advice about your case.  If you choose to represent yourself, you are bound by the same rules 

and procedures as an attorney.   
 

 

GENERAL INFORMATION  
 
◆ The action must be filed by a “person in interest”, i.e. the property owner or other individual or entity identified 

as the landlord or lessor on the lease.   
◆ The action must be filed in the County where the property is located. 
◆ Before you file your action, you must have served the tenant a Demand for Compliance or Right to 

Possession Notice (JDF 101) or a Notice to Quit (JDF 97) and any required time period for the tenant to 
comply must have passed.  If the last day of any period is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the period is 
extended to include the next day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. 

◆ The judgment amount is limited to $25,000.00 (if personally served) in County Court. 
◆ If you are the Defendant, do not disregard the Summons and Complaint.  If you do, a judgment could be 

entered against you.  
◆ If you are the Plaintiff, do not disregard a counterclaim.  If you do, a judgment could be entered against you.  
◆ For additional information, please review Colorado Revised Statute §13-40-101 et seq. 
◆ If you have a disability and need a reasonable accommodation to access the courts, please contact your local 

ADA Coordinator. Contact information can be obtained from the following website:  
 http://www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/HR/ADA/Coordinator_List.cfm 
 
 

COMMON TERMS 
 
 Complaint: Document officially commencing the eviction process against a person who fails to 

comply with the lease agreement or pay rent when due. 
 Plaintiff:  The person(s) or company filing a Complaint. 
 Defendant:  The person(s) or company that the case is filed against. 
 Service of Process: The official means by which the Defendant is notified that a lawsuit has been filed against 

him/her and provided a copy of the Summons and Complaint.  
 Default: If the Defendant does not appear at the time of the hearing or file an answer, the Court 

may enter “default” or “failure to appear/answer” which entitles the Plaintiff to all relief 
asked for in the complaint. 

 Return Date: The date that the Defendant must file his/her answer by and/or appear in Court, which is 
listed on the Summons.  

 Writ of Restitution:  A legal order signed by the Court authorizing the Sheriff to evict the Defendant.  It is 
effective 48 hours after the judge grants a judgment of possession unless other terms are 
ordered. 

TENANT/LEASE AGREEMENT TYPES (listed in JDF 101) 
 
 Employer-provided Housing Agreement:  a residential tenancy agreement between an employee and 

an employer when the employer or an affiliate of the employer 
acts as a landlord.  

 Exempt Residential Agreement:  a residential agreement leasing a single-family home by a 
landlord who owns five or fewer single-family rental homes 
and who provides notice in the agreement that the ten-day 
notice period required pursuant to Colorado Revised Statute 
§13-40-104 does not apply to the tenancy entered into 
pursuant to the agreement.  

 Non-residential Agreement:  an agreement for tenancy or lease of a property that is not 
residential  

 Residential Agreement:  an agreement for tenancy or lease of a residential property. 
 

http://www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/HR/ADA/Coordinator_List.cfm
http://www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/HR/ADA/Coordinator_List.cfm
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If you do not understand this information, please contact an attorney. 
 

 
 

FEES 
The filing fee is $85, if your claim is for possession only and or your money claim is for less than $1000. If your 
claim is in excess of $1000 please refer to the chart on page 2 of these instructions. . If you are unable to pay, 
you must complete the Motion to File without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit (JDF 205) and submit it 
to the Court.  Once you submit the completed JDF 205 form and a blank Order (JDF 206), the Court will decide if 
you need to pay the filing fee.  
 
Other fees that a party to the case may encounter are as follows: 
 
 
Claim Amount (Plaintiff, Petitioner)    Filing Fee  
Less than $1,000     $85  
$1,000 up to $15,000     $105  
$15,000 up to $25,000      $135  
 
Third Party Plaintiff Intervenor, Party filing answer  
With cross claim or counter claim  
Less than $1,000      $84  
$1,000 up to $15,000      $104  
$15,000 up to $25,000      $134  
 
Defendant, Respondent, Third Party Defendant  
Other party NOT filing cross claim or counterclaim  
Less than $1,000      $80  
$1,000 up to $15,000      $100  
$15,000 up to $25,000      $130 
 

❑ Jury Demand Fee       $ 98.00  

❑ Copies of Documents (Documents on file)  $    .75 per page or $1.50 if double-sided 

❑ Copies of Documents (Documents not on file)  $    .25 per page or $.50 if double -sided 

❑ Service Fees      Varies (Not payable through or to the Court.) 
 

FORMS 
To access a form online go to www.courts.state.co.us and click on the “Self Help/Forms” tab, select “All 
Court Forms and Instructions” and then select “Evictions and Foreclosures”.  The packet/forms are 
available in PDF or WORD by selecting “County Civil – Eviction (FED)”. You may complete a form online and 
print or you may print it and type or print legibly in black ink.  Read these instructions carefully to determine 
what forms you may need. 
 

❑ CRCCP Form 1A    Summons in Forcible Entry and Unlawful Detainer  

❑ CRCCP Form 3   Answer Under Simplified Civil Procedure   

❑ JDF 97   Notice to Quit 

❑ JDF 98   Affidavit of Service 

❑ JDF 99   Complaint in Forcible Entry and Detainer   

❑ JDF 101    Demand for Compliance or Right to Possession Notice    

❑ JDF 102    Stipulation for Forcible Entry & Detainer (FED)/Eviction  

❑ JDF 103   Writ of Restitution      

❑ JDF 104   Motion for Entry of Judgment  

❑ JDF 106   Order re: Stipulation 

❑ JDF 107   Order for Entry of Judgment   
 

http://www.courts.state.co.us/
http://www.courts.state.co.us/
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STEPS TO FILING YOUR CASE 
 

Step 1: You have already completed and posted the Demand for Compliance or Right to Possession 

Notice (JDF 101) or Notice to Quit (JDF 97) and the time for the tenant to comply has passed.  If this has not 
been completed, do not proceed to Step 2. 
 

Step 2: Complete Initial Forms. 
The caption area below needs to be completed on all forms filed. Keep a copy of each form for your own 
records and make a copy to provide to the other party. 
 
 

County Court________________________ County, Colorado 
Court Address: 
 

Plaintiff(s): (print your name here) 
v. 
Defendant(s): (print name here) 

 

 

 

       COURT USE ONLY 

Attorney or Party Without Attorney (Name and Address):  
(Print your name and address here if you are representing yourself.)  
Phone Number:                                  E-mail: 
FAX Number:                                     Atty. Reg. #: 

Case Number: 
 
 
 
 
Division               Courtroom 

NAME OF FORM 

 

❑ Complaint in Forcible Entry and Detainer (JDF 99).   

❑ You are the Plaintiff and the person(s) you are evicting is/are the Defendant(s). 

❑ Fill in all the blanks and complete all necessary information on the Complaint form.  

❑ If you are filing against multiple Defendants in the same action, list all of the Defendants.  

❑ Make sure you have the appropriate number of copies of all documents for the Court and the 
Defendant(s). 

❑ You may file a copy of the lease or rental agreement with the Court if a written lease or rental agreement 
was made, check with the court where you are filing for specific filing requirements.  Please mark as 
Exhibit “A” if available. The lease or rental agreement must be served to the Defendant(s) with the 
Complaint.  

❑ File with the Court a copy of the Demand for Compliance or Right to Possession Notice or Notice to Quit.  
Please mark as Exhibit “B”.  A copy of this notice, which has already been served to the Defendant(s), 
must be attached to the Complaint. 
 
 

❑ Summons in Forcible Entry and Unlawful Detainer (CRCCP Form 1A) and Answer under Simplified 
Civil Procedure (CRCCP Form 3).   

❑ Complete the upper portion (caption only) on the Summons and Answer.   

❑ The Court will provide you with a case number, division, and courtroom when you file your case.  When 
you receive this information, enter it on both forms.  In addition, enter the case number on the upper 
portion of the return of service, so that the Court can match this document to the appropriate case when 
filed back with the Court. 

❑ The Clerk will complete the appropriate fields on the Summons (CRCCP 1A) with Court location, date, 
and time. 

❑ You must provide additional copies to serve the Defendant(s). 
 
 

Step 3: You are ready to file your case with the Court.   
❑ Provide the Court with the completed forms and exhibit as described in Steps 1 - 2 above. 

❑ Pay the filing fee.  
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Step 4: When the case is filed, the Clerk will set your case for a Court date.   

This Court date is the date you will return to Court for a trial setting, agreement, or judgment may be entered.  

❑ The Clerk will complete the appropriate fields on the Summons (CRCCP 1A) with the Court location, date, 
and time.   

❑ The Court date will be set between 7 to 14 days from the date of issuance of the Summons.( §13-40-

111(1)) 

❑ You must provide the necessary forms and attach the appropriate exhibits to serve the Defendant(s).   
 
 

Step 5:  You are ready to have the Defendant(s) served.  
You are responsible for paying the service fees, if any.  Personal service or service by posting and mail must be 
completed at least 7 days before the day for appearance specified in the Summons.  Complete the following 
process based on the type of service selected: 
 
 

If the person doing your service cannot serve the Defendant(s) personally, the papers should be posted on the 
door to the main entrance of the dwelling or other conspicuous place upon the premises.  The Court will only 
award you possession and not money damages if you post and mail the Summons and Complaint.  A monetary 
award may be granted only if there has been personal service of process on the Defendant(s). 
 

 
 

Personal Service:  
Select either the Sheriff’s Department, a private process server, or someone you know who is 18 years or older 
and not a party to the action and who knows the rules of service to serve the Defendant. There is a service fee 
that is payable to the Sheriff’s Department or Private Process Server.  The fee for service is usually awarded as 
part of your court costs if the court rules in your favor. 

❑ Provide the process server with the Affidavit of Service (JDF 98) for each Defendant and two sets of the 
Summons, Complaint, and Answer forms. In addition, attach all appropriate exhibits as described in Step 
2. 

❑ The process server will return the original Summons to you with the Affidavit of Service completed.  

❑ Each Defendant must be served at least 7 days before the day for appearance specified in the Summons. 
 

Service by Posting and Mailing:  

❑ If personal service cannot be made upon the Defendant(s), the person completing service, i.e. process 
server or Sheriff’s Department, must post the papers on the door to the main entrance or other 
conspicuous place upon the premises. 

❑ No later than the day following the day you file the Complaint with the Court, you must mail a copy of the 
Summons, Complaint, and Answer to the Defendant(s) by postage prepaid, first class mail. (In addition, 
attach the appropriate exhibits.) 

❑ After you have placed the forms in the mail, complete the certificate of mailing. The certificate of mailing is 
included on the Summons (CRCCP Form 1A). The purpose of completing the certificate of mailing is to 
provide proof that you did mail the Summons, Complaint and Answer to the Defendant(s) by postage pre-
paid, first class mail. 

 
 

Step 6: Service is complete.   
File the original Summons and Affidavit(s) of Service with the Clerk on or before the date you are to appear in 
Court.   
 

 

FIRST APPEARANCE 
It is important that you are on time or early for your Return Date and that you have all of your information with you.  
Please turn off your cell phone and respect all parties in the courtroom.  You may be asked to speak to the other 

party on the Return Date to determine if the claim can be settled to avoid going to trial.   
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❑ If the Plaintiff(s) and Defendant(s) appear on the Return Date, one of the following 
situations can occur: 
1. The Defendant(s) can agree to vacate the premises or the parties can agree to certain conditions that 

enable the Defendant(s) to remain in the property.  An agreement can be made to the amount of money 
owed and a payment plan can be put in place.  The agreement, called a “stipulation,” must be put in 
writing on the court form titled “Stipulation in Forcible Entry and Detainer” (JDF 102).  The stipulation must 
be filed with, and approved by, the court. A Stipulation form (JDF 102) may be purchased from the 
clerk’s office or you may bring one with you to Court.  The Plaintiff(s) does not have to agree to the filing 
of the Stipulation if they want the Defendant(s) off the property.   

❑ If a stipulation is reached, an Order re: Stipulation (JDF 106) must be filed with the Court with the 
Stipulation.  Complete the caption only on the form.  The Court will complete the remaining sections 
on the form and give you a signed copy.    

2. With approval of the court, the Plaintiff(s) can continue the return date, if the Plaintiff(s) feel that further 
discussion with the Defendant(s) is/are required or, if the Defendant(s) is/are given another opportunity to 
fulfill a pre-arranged agreement. 

3. The Defendant(s) file an Answer.  A Possession Hearing and/or a Court Trial regarding money issues will 
be set. 

 
 

❑ If the Defendant(s) do not appear or do not timely file an Answer and Steps 1 - 6 have 
been completed properly.   
The Court may award possession and/or, if personal service was obtained, monetary judgment to the 
Plaintiff(s).  

 

DEFENDANT FILES AN ANSWER OR ANSWER AND COUNTERCLAIM  
 

Unless the Court has approved a written stipulation of the parties, the Defendant must file an answer, in writing, 
with the appropriate filing fee, on or before the Return Date set in the Summons. The purpose of the answer is for 
the Defendant(s) to respond to the allegations in the Complaint. The Defendant may also file a counterclaim with 
the answer.  If the Defendant requests a jury trial, an additional fee will be required for the jury fee. See the Fees 
section above for more information. The Court will determine if the issue of possession is to be determined by a 
jury in the event of a jury demand.  The Defendant may apply to the Court for a waiver of the filing fees due to 
indigency by filing a Motion to File without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit (JDF 205).  

 
 If, in the answer, the Defendant asserts a defense to the Plaintiff’s request for possession of the property, the 
case will be set for a possession hearing.  The possession hearing may address only the issue of possession and 
reserve other matters including any counterclaim for a later trial or all matters may be tried together 

 

JUDGMENT INFORMATION  
The Court cannot collect your monetary judgment for you but can give you information regarding the necessary 
collection forms.  Check with the local clerk’s office to determine whether the following forms are required by the 
Court where you are filing. Then, complete the appropriate forms based on the judgment awarded. 
 

❑ Possession Judgment: 

❑ Complete the Motion for Entry of Judgment (JDF 104). 

❑ Complete the caption and include the property address (2nd check box) on the Order for Entry of 
Judgment (JDF 107).   

❑ The Court will review the Motion and upon approval will complete the Order (JDF 107) and give you a 
signed copy.  

❑ If the Defendant(s) have not vacated the property within 48 hours from the date of judgment, 
complete the caption only on the Writ of Restitution (JDF 103) and provide to the Court for 
issuance.   

❑ Once the Writ is issued, it is the obligation of the Plaintiff(s) to contact the Sheriff’s Office for the 
execution of the Writ.   

 

❑ Monetary Judgment: 
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❑ If you obtained personal service on the Defendant(s), the Motion for Entry of Judgment (JDF 104) may 
request a money judgment. The Motion also asks for court costs and the process fee for service of the 
Summons.  Interest and attorney fees are not normally awarded on evictions filed without an attorney. 

❑ Complete the caption only on the Order for Entry of Judgment with Issuance of Interrogatories (JDF 107).  
The Court will complete the remaining sections on the form.   

 
 

 
Additional collection information entitled “Instructions for Collecting a Judgment and Completing a Writ 
of Garnishment” (JDF 82) is available on the state judicial website, www.courts.state.co.us.  Select the 
“Self Help/Forms” tab, then select “All Court Forms and Instructions”, then select “Garnishments and 

Judgments”. 

http://www.courts.state.co.us/
http://www.courts.state.co.us/

