Chief Justice Directive 12-03
Amended July 1, 2015

Amended July 1, 2016

Amended Effective October 1, 2021
Amended Effective July 1, 2023

SUPREME COURT OF COLORADO
OFFICE OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE

DIRECTIVE CONCERNING COURT COMPENSATION OF EXPERT WITNESSES
AND PROFESSIONALS CONDUCTING MENTAL HEALTH EVALUATIONS, SANITY
EVALUATIONS, AND COMPETENCY EVALUATIONS

In an effort to control expenditures of state funds in court cases, the following policy shall
apply to expert witnesses and mental health professionals conducting examinations or evaluations
(with or without subsequent testimony), who are entitled to compensation paid by the Colorado
Judicial Department pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes section 13-33-102(4), section 15-14-
306 when respondent is indigent, sections 16-8-103, 16-8-106, 16-8-108, sections 16-8.5-101-16-
8.5-114, sections 18-1.3-1104, 19-1-104(3)(a), and section 19-2.5-703.

This Directive does not apply to other professionals that are appointed and compensated
by the court as provided in other Chief Justice Directives, including, but not limited to, court
visitors, child and family investigators, and court-appointed counsel, nor does this Directive
apply to expert witnesses procured and compensated by other state agencies, or employees
and/or contractors paid by the Colorado Mental Health Institute at Pueblo or other government
mental health agencies for work performed at their direction. Certain types of evaluations are also
excluded inasmuch as they are governed by other program specific statutes, rules, or policies,
including but not limited to, domestic relations evaluations, psychosexual evaluations, substance
abuse evaluations, domestic violence evaluations, and alcohol evaluations. If the Court finds that
there is not an applicable statute, rule, directive, policy, or similar guidance that governs
compensation for an evaluation or expert witness permitted by statute, and that payment by the
Judicial Department is appropriate, the Court shall enter an order requiring the professional to
comply with the fee and billing requirements and limitations set forth in this Chief Justice
Directive.

The Judicial Department may enter in to agreements to provide for evaluations or
examinations when it is determined that said agreements are cost-effective and in the best
interest of the Judicial Department.

l. Fees and Expenses

A Hourly Fee for Sanity and Competency Evaluations. On or after July 1, 2023, for any
evaluation conducted pursuant to sections 16-8-103, 16-8-106, 16-8-108, 16-8.5-101-
16-8.5-114, and 19-2.5-703, C.R.S., the hourly fee paid to mental health professionals
shall be reasonable and may not exceed $177 per hour (or 50% of the authorized
rate as described in section I.E.2.of this Directive) unless there is justification from
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the requesting party that they are unable to obtain the services of a mental health
professional at a rate of $177 per hour. Any competency or sanity evaluation
ordered prior to July 1, 2023, shall be paid at the rate of $150 per hour. A motion to
exceed the hourly rate shall be filed in advance of engagement of the professional and
shall explain why a fee in excess of the authorized rate is both reasonable and
necessary. The court may grant, deny, or set a hearing on the motion to exceed the
hourly rate. The court’s order shall be in writing or shall be recorded in the court’s
case management system.

Maximums for Sanity and Competency. On or after July 1, 2023, no mental health
professional fees in excess of $1,770 for a case (exclusive of authorized expenses) shall
be incurred without prior order of the court, except that a mental health professional
who completes the required evaluation of an individual and subsequently testifies as an
expert witness at a court hearing in the case may be allowed up to $2,655 in total fees
(exclusive of authorized expenses). Any competency or sanity evaluation ordered prior
to July 1, 2023, shall have a maximum allowance of $1,500 per evaluation (exclusive
of authorized expenses), except that a mental health professional who completed the
required evaluation of an individual and subsequently testified as an expert witness at a
court hearing in the case may be allowed up to $2,250 in total fees (exclusive of
authorized expenses). These amounts are the presumptive cap and shall not be
considered a flat rate of pay. Any motion requesting approval of fees in excess of
the above maximums shall include the total anticipated fee amount and an explanation
of the extenuating circumstances warranting the amount. The court’s order approving
excess fees must accompany any payment request.

Hourly Fee for Experts and Evaluations Other than Sanity or Competency. On or after
July 1, 2023, the hourly fee paid to expert witnesses and mental health professionals
performing services pursuant to this Directive that are not related to sanity or
competency shall be reasonable and may not exceed $118 per hour (or 50% of the
authorized rate as described in section IL.E.2.of this Directive) unless there is
justification from the requesting party that they are unable to obtain the services of an
expert witness or mental health professional at a rate of $118 per hour. A motion to
exceed the hourly rate shall be filed in advance of engagement of the professional and
shall explain why a fee in excess of $118 per hour is both reasonable and necessary.
The court may grant, deny, or set a hearing on the motion to exceed the hourly rate.
The court’s order shall be in writing or shall be recorded in the court’s case
management system.

Maximums for Experts and Evaluations Other than Sanity or Competency. On or
after July 1, 2023, no expert witness or mental health professional fees in excess of
$1,180 for a case (exclusive of authorized expenses) shall be incurred without prior
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order of the court, except that a mental health professional who completes the required
evaluation of an individual and subsequently testifies as an expert witness at a court
hearing in the case may be allowed up to $1,770 in total fees (exclusive of authorized
expenses). These amounts are the presumptive cap and shall not be considered a flat
rate of pay. Any motion requesting approval of fees in excess of the above maximums
shall include the total anticipated fee amount and an explanation of the extenuating
circumstances warranting the amount. The court’s order approving excess fees must
accompany any payment request.

Compensation for all expert witnesses and mental health professionals under this
Directive may be made, at the discretion of the court, pursuant to the following
guidelines:

1. Fees for reasonable preparation time and in-court testimony time may be paid at
100% of the authorized hourly rate.

2. Fees for travel time and/or time spent waiting to testify as a result of a delay in the
scheduled appearance may be paid at 50% of the authorized hourly rate, not to
exceed six hours.

Expenses for all Expert Witnesses and Professionals Under this Directive

1. Travel Expenses. Requests for travel expenses must be in accordance with section
13-33-103, C.R.S., and Judicial Department fiscal rules. Expenses involving out-
of-state travel must be approved by order of the court in advance of the actual
travel. A copy of the court’s order shall be attached to the request for payment. In
addition, reimbursement of authorized travel expenses will be made only if
itemized receipts are provided to the court executive with the reimbursement
request.

2. Food and Lodging. In the absence of extraordinary circumstances, expert
witnesses or other professionals performing services under this Directive shall not
be compensated or reimbursed for food or lodging. To receive reimbursement for
food and/or lodging expenses, the court, after considering whether extraordinary
circumstances exist based on justification provided by the requesting party, must
authorize such expenses in advance of the actual expenditures. The requested
expenses must be in compliance with the per diem rates authorized by the Judicial
Department fiscal rules. A copy of the court’s authorization, as well as itemized
receipts, shall be attached to the request for payment.

3. Other. Expenses and costs other than those detailed in paragraphs 1 and 2
above, including, but not limited to, support or administrative personnel, overhead,

and general operating expenses incurred by expert witnesses and other professionals
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shall not be authorized for payment by the court.

G. Courts shall make every effort to control costs related to the services obtained and
provided under this Directive. During court proceedings, expert witnesses should
be accommodated, to the extent possible, to minimize waiting time.

Il. Guidelines for Payment

A. Payment Requests.  After the services are completed, the expert witness or
professional who conducted the mental health evaluation shall file with the court a
request for payment, using the form in Attachment A, containing an itemized
statement of the services performed. The court executive shall review all such
requests to ensure compliance with this Directive, and may require
additional supporting documentation from the billing party to clarify and resolve
any issues.

B. Discrepancies and Disputes.  Unless determined by court order, the court
executive , with the cooperation of the billing party, shall be responsible for
resolving any discrepancies or disputes regarding final approval and payment of
fees and expenses claimed under this Directive.

This Chief Justice Direct is amended effective July 1, 2023.

Done at Denver, Colorado this 29" day of June, 2023.

/s/
Brian D. Boatright, Chief Justice
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REQUEST FOR PAYMENT FOR
SERVING AS EXPERT WITNESS AND/OR CONDUCTING MENTAL HEALTH EVALUATION, SANITY EVALUATION,
OR COMPETENCY EVALUATION

(This form is to be used for payment requests pursuant to Chief Justice Directive 12-03. Copies of any applicable court orders and supporting
documents shall be attached to this request for payment.)

Case Name: Case Number: Court:

Type of Evaluation Performed (sanity, competency, or other):

Expert Witness or Mental Health Evaluator Full Name:
Degree or Certification:
Business Full Name (if applicable):
Address: City/State/Zip
Last 4 digits of Social Security No. xxx-xx- OR Federal Tax ID Number

A completed W-9 form containing the payee’s Tax Identification Number (Social Security Number or Federal Employer Tax Identification Number) must
be on file before a payment will be processed. If the payee has not previously received payment from the State of Colorado Judicial Department, a W-
9 form must be completed, including the payee’s signature, and attached to this form along with required billing documentation. A W-9 form can be
accessed and printed from the following web site:

https://www.courts.state.co.us/userfiles/file/Administration/Financial_Services/CAC/State%20Substitute%20W-9.pdf

ITEMIZATION OF TIME: (Attach additional pages, if needed.)
IMPORTANT: Do not report the same hours in more than one column. Separate the hours
in either (a) or (b) or (c), as applicable. Report fractional hours in decimals. (Example: 6 minutes = 0.10 hour)

Description of Activity:

a) Time b) Time c) Time
Date of . .. . related to related to waiting at
L. Specify the activity you performed and note whether you were in R .
Activity . conducting serving as Court
court on a given date. Exam or Expert Appearance
DO NOT include travel time in this table. . P PP
Eval. Witness

-I SUB-TOTALHOURS | 3) b) c)

Eees:
Work at full hourly rate: $ X Hours (a+b)= $
In-Court Waiting Time: (50% fee allowed) $ X Hours (c) = $
Travel time (50% fee allowed): $ X Hours = $
From to Date
From to Date

Total Hourly Fees $
Expenses: (ONLY if pre-approved by the court for extraordinary circumstances.)
Mileage expense at statutory per-mile rate:
$0. per mile X miles =
Food and/or lodging expenses (receipts and itemization attached) =
Airfare or other public carrier expense (receipts and itemization attached) =

Total Expenses

© & @ B P

Total Payment Requested



https://www.courts.state.co.us/userfiles/file/Administration/Financial_Services/CAC/State%20Substitute%20W-9.pdf
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| affirm that this request is accurate and complete and that | have received no other compensation for the above. | understand that paymentis
subject to approval by the court and agree to provide any necessary documentation to justify the request.

Date: Signature:
Typed:
COURT USE ONLY: Date: Approval Signature:

Title:




