Skip to main content
Home Administration Court Services Adult Diversion
Home Administration Court Services Adult Diversion
Adult Diversion

Pre-trial Adult Diversion Programs, authorized by Sec. 18-1.3-101, C.R.S., provide a path out of the traditional criminal court processes of plea, trial, conviction and sentencing. Diversion holds people accountable for their actions and for repairing harm to victims of crime. Diversion seeks to reduce future criminal behavior and increase public safety.

Diversion participants sign an agreement that lists what they must do or must not do for dismissal of the charges against them. Diversion may require participation in drug or alcohol treatment, recovery support, mental health, anger management or domestic violence offender treatment or resotrative justice practices, for example. These interventions often target needs or problems that led to involvement in the criminal legal system. For those who comply with their diversion agreements, charges are dismissed. Otherwise, prosecutors may pursue the charges against them. 

As of 2020, the State Court Administrator's Office funded 12 adult diversion programs. Other judicial districts may also have adult or juvenile diversion programs. Each district attorney's office determines eligibility for diversion, often considering the type and seriousness of charges, criminal history, prior failures to appear in court, prior participation in diversion, probation or parole status, risk and need assessment results, victim input and other factors. Contact information for local diversion programs appears below: 

Judicial District Counties Contact
2nd Denver

Benita Martin

Bam@denverda.org

5th Eagle, Summit, Clear Creek and Lake

Audrey Radlinski

aradlinski@da5.us

6th Archuleta, La Plata and San Juan

Brian Miller

Brian.Miller@co.laplata.co.us

7th Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray and San Miguel

Brad Lewis

blewis@deltacounty.com

9th Garfield, Pitkin and Rio Blanco

BethAnn Mallory bmallory@9daco.org

12th Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande and Saguache

Megan Martinez

megan.martinez@da12.state.co.us

14th Grand, Moffat and Routt

Kelly Friesen

kfriesen@co.grand.co.us

15th Baca, Cheyenne, Kiowa and Prowers

Kevin Ridder

kridder@southeastcolorado.net

16th Bent, Crowley and Otero

Kassie Martin

kmartin@da16co.gov

20th Boulder

Elaina Shively

eshively@bouldercounty.org

21st Mesa

Steve Chin

steve.chin@mesacounty.us

22nd Dolores and Montezuma

Jeremiah Jones

JJones@co.montezuma.co.us

For general questions about adult diversion in Colorado, contact Kara Martin, the Statewide Adult Diversion Coordinator, at kara.martin@judicial.state.co.us.

Programs

Application Process
Funding Committee
Legislative Reports
Program Resources


Special Announcements

If you or a loved one are experiencing a mental health crisis, contact Colorado Crisis Services by texting “TALK” to 38255 or call 1-844-493-8255.

https://coloradocrisisservices.org/

Program Funding  FY 2022 program funding is uncertain. If funded, the funding application will be posted here.   

Business Resources

Public Defenders

http://www.coloradodefenders.us/offices/

important announcement contact us   •   interpreters   •   faq   •   photos   •   holidays Menu Important Announcement Home Search Courts Probation Jury Self Help ⁄ Forms Careers Media Administration Contact us Interpreters FAQ Photo Gallery Holiday Schedule
2a