
Paternity Issues 

Authored By: Colorado Legal Services 

How do I establish paternity? 

If you were married at the time of the baby's birth, or if your baby was born within 300 days after your 

marriage ended, your husband is presumed by law to be the father. If paternity testing excludes your 

husband, the child's suspected father will either admit paternity or be tested; if test results don't exclude this 

person, he can be named as the father 

What if I was NOT married when my child was born? 

The father of the child can agree that he is the father and sign an affidavit stating that he is the father. The 

father can consent to being named as the baby's father on the child's birth certificate. If the father of the child 

refuses to sign the affidavit or if you were married to someone other than the father when you became 

pregnant or when the child was born, the court will have to decide. You may want to talk with an attorney if 

you are in this situation. 

What if I am not sure who the father is or if my child's father refuses to admit he is the father? 

Contact your county Department of Social Services office. They will help you find out what action is 

necessary to establish paternity. They will probably need to serve the father with legal papers naming him as 

the father and asking for child support. Cases can be brought in the county where the child or the father 

lives, where public assistance has been provided for the child, or where a probate case is being heard (if the 

father is deceased). A man who has had sexual intercourse in the State of Colorado is presumed to have 

submitted to the jurisdiction of Colorado courts to hear a paternity case. The alleged father will have the right 

to obtain paternity DNA testing. After reviewing the results of paternity DNA tests with results of 97% or 

higher, a child's father will often admit to paternity. If that happens, an order may then be signed by the court 

without the need for a court hearing. A man must fight his designation as a child's father within 5 years of the 

child's birth. A child can bring a paternity action, if paternity has not been determined, before the child 

becomes 21 years old. 

How much does this cost? 

There is a $20 application fee for this service. That is the total cost to you. There is no eligibility qualification 

for this service. If the man you name is found to be the father, he will be assessed the cost of the paternity 

test. 

What are paternity DNA tests? 

These are genetic tests which compare many different markers in the possible father's DNA with similar 

markers of the mother's and the child's DNA. The DNA can be collected by specific county Department of 



Social Services offices, a hospital or other medical facility. The test results will either provide an almost 

100% certainty that a man is your child's father, or show that he is not your child's father. These tests are 

accepted as proof in a court case to determine paternity. 

What if I think I am a child's father, but the child's mother does not agree? 

You have the right to know if you are the father of a child. Contact your county Department of Social 

Services office, or the office serving the county where the child's mother lives. They will help you find out 

what action is necessary to establish paternity. There is a $20 application fee for this service. If you are the 

father, you will be required to repay the state for the cost of paternity test. These tests usually cost between 

$90 and $225. 

Who has custody of the child after paternity is determined? 

Establishing paternity does not equal getting custody. You will get a child support order, but custody and 

parenting time (visitation) orders are not handled by Social Services in the paternity action. You may want to 

talk to an attorney about this. 

 

This communication is made available by Colorado Legal Services, Inc., (CLS), as a public service and is issued to 

inform not to advise. No person should attempt to interpret or apply any law without the assistance of an attorney. 

The opinions expressed in this communication are those of the authors and not those of CLS or its funding sources. 

If you need advice on this or any other legal problem, consult an attorney of your own choosing. If you cannot afford 

an attorney, talk to Colorado Legal Services, 303.837.1313. 

 


